Programme mondial de recherche sur le climat (PMRC)

La mission du Programme mondial de recherche sur le climat (WCRP) est de faciliter l'analyse et la prévision de la variabilité et du changement du système climatique de la Terre pour une utilisation dans une gamme croissante d'applications pratiques d'intérêt direct, d'avantages et de valeur pour la société.

Programme mondial de recherche sur le climat (PMRC)

Organisme affilié à l'ISC Programme mondial de recherche sur le climat (PMRC) tourné vers l'avenir en 2020, pour s'éloigner des stratégies décrites dans le Plan stratégique du PMRC 2019-2028 à une structure et à des priorités de recherche qui visent à relever les défis urgents et à tirer parti des opportunités auxquelles la société est confrontée aujourd'hui et sera confrontée à l'avenir. Conformément à cet objectif, deux chercheurs en sciences sociales ont rejoint le comité scientifique du WCRP en 2020.

Après un travail préparatoire approfondi, il a été convenu en décembre 2020 que le WCRP établira deux nouveaux projets phares: Modélisation et Observations du Système Terre et Information Régionale pour la Société. Ces deux projets garantiront que les efforts de modélisation et de données sont bien intégrés dans l'ensemble du PMRC et que les informations climatiques de toutes les activités du PMRC sont accessibles, utiles et utilisables. La communauté WCRP a également établi cinq nouveaux Activités phares, qui s'attaquera à des problèmes critiques au cours de la prochaine décennie :

Pour s'assurer que les communautés du monde entier ont une voix dans les priorités du PMRC, le programme a établi une série de Forums de recherche sur le climat en 2020, avec plus de 50 points focaux régionaux du monde entier. Sur cette base, la planification a commencé pour un Conférence scientifique ouverte du WCRP en 2023 qui mettra l'accent sur le rapprochement entre la science climatique et la société.


Image: Hubert Neufeld on Unsplash.

Prochaine étape : Mener la recherche intégrée pour l'Agenda 2030 en Afrique (LIRA 2030) 

Passer au contenu

World Climate Research Programme (WCRP)

The mission of the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) is to facilitate analysis and prediction of Earth’s climate system variability and change for use in an increasing range of practical applications of direct relevance, benefit and value to society.

Greenland iceberg

ISC Affiliated Body the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) looked to the future in 2020, to move from the strategies outlined in the WCRP Strategic Plan 2019-2028 to a structure and research priorities that aim to address the urgent challenges and take advantage of the opportunities that society faces now and will face in the future. In line with this aim, two social scientists joined the WCRP Scientific Committee during 2020.

After extensive groundwork, it was agreed in December 2020 that WCRP will establish two new core projects: Earth System Modelling and Observations and Regional Information for Society. These two projects will ensure that modelling and data efforts are well integrated across WCRP and that the climate information from all WCRP activities is accessible, useful and useable. The WCRP community also established five new Lighthouse Activities, which will tackle critical issues over the next decade:

  • Explaining and Predicting Earth System Change: Explaining, predicting and gaining an early warning of changes in the Earth system.
  • My Climate Risk: Assessing and explaining regional climate risk to deliver climate information that is meaningful at the local scale.
  • Safe Landing Climates: Exploring the routes to climate-safe landing ‘spaces’ for human and natural systems.
  • Digital Earths: Creating digital and dynamic representations of climate in the Earth system that can be openly explored and accessed in new and innovative ways.
  • WCRP Academy: Bringing together existing and facilitating new climate research and education opportunities to prepare for a new generation of climate scientists and leaders.

To ensure that communities around the world have a voice in WCRP priorities, the Programme established a series of Climate Research Forums in 2020, with over 50 Regional Focal Points from around the world. Building on this, planning has started for a WCRP Open Science Conference in 2023 that will have a focus on bridging climate science and society.


Image: Hubert Neufeld on Unsplash.

Next up: Leading Integrated Research for Agenda 2030 in Africa (LIRA 2030) 

Share: