Sign up

Call for nominations: Stein Rokkan Prize 2020

The prize is open to works in comparative studies from all social science disciplines. It is given to a submission deemed by the Jury to be a substantial and original contribution in comparative social science research.

The annual Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research is presented by the International Science Council (ISC), the University of Bergen and the ECPR. Thanks to the generosity of the University of Bergen, it now carries a prize fund of $5,000.

Nominations for the 2020 Prize are now welcome.  The deadline for nominations for the 2020 Prize is Friday 14 February 2020.

Submissions for the 2020 prize must be emailed to ECPR’s Marcia Taylor by Friday 14 February 2020.

Read more on the nomination procedure.

The Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research was established by the International Social Science Council in 1981 to celebrate the legacy of Stein Rokkan. Stein Rokkan was a pioneer of comparative political and social science research, renowned for his ground-breaking work on the nation state and democracy. A brilliant researcher and a professor at the University of Bergen where he spent most of his career, Rokkan was also President of the ISSC, and one of the founders of the ECPR. The Prize is managed by the ECPR and generously supported by the University of Bergen.

Skip to content