Sign up

Future Earth Engagement Committee announced

Jairam Ramesh will chair the Committee, which will provide leadership and strategic guidance on engaging societal partners with Future Earth, ensuring that Future Earth provides the knowledge society needs.

The Science and Technology Alliance for Global Sustainability (the Alliance) announced today the appointment of an Engagement Committee with 15 members who will work on involving stakeholders throughout the entire research process from co-design to dissemination.

“The Future Earth Engagement Committee is one of the two key pillars of the Future Earth initiative. It will work closely with the Future Earth Science Committee to both design and catalyse the implementation of sustainability solutions across countries. Three more members will soon be added to the Committee that is being announced today,” said Ramesh.

The Committee will work closely with the Science Committee to deliver on the Future Earth vision and objectives articulated in the Initial Design Report and Future Earth 2025 Vision. The main roles of the Committee are to ensure that the principles of the co-design and co-production of knowledge are embodied in Future Earth activities and to provide strategic guidance on stakeholder engagement, communications and capacity mobilisation.

“Science must work in partnership with government, business and civil society to develop integrated, actionable solutions to the global sustainability challenges facing society. The Future Earth Engagement Committee will work with the Science Committee and Secretariat to pioneer co-designed, co-produced science, knowledge and innovation that can support a more agile global innovation system,” said Heide Hackmann, Executive Director of the International Social Science Council (ISSC). The Alliance is currently co-chaired by the ISSC and UNESCO.

A full list of committee members is available.

Skip to content