Sign up

ICSU President to receive International Meterological Prize from WMO

ICSU President Professor Gordon McBean of Canada has been announced the winner of the 62nd International Meteorological Organization (IMO) Prize by the World Meteorological Organization.



The World Meteorological Organization is the United Nations’  authoritative voice on Weather, Climate and Water and the IMO Prize is the most important award in meteorology, named after WMO’s predecessor organization, the International Meteorological Organization.

The award, which will be given to Gordon McBean in 2018, is given annually to scientists for outstanding contributions to meteorology, hydrology and geophysical sciences. Established in 1955, it is the most important award in meteorology.

Earlier this month, the 61st IMO prize was awarded at a ceremony in Geneva to Professor Zeng Qingcun, a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, for his outstanding contribution to meteorology and climate science.

Skip to content