Sign up

ISC appoints new Fellows to support its mission to bring science to society 

The Fellowship is an honour awarded by ISC to those who champion science in and for society.

Cape Town, 5 December 2022 – The International Science Council has today appointed 60 new ISC Fellows, in recognition of their outstanding contributions to promoting science as a global public good.  The Fellowship is the highest honour that can be conferred on an individual by the ISC. Joining the 66 Fellows that were appointed in June, it is anticipated that they will support ISC in its vital mission to bring science to society and help address urgent societal problems – such as climate change mitigation and adaptation, water, energy and food security, as well as urgent transformations required in research itself.  

 The second cohort of Fellows includes eminent social and natural scientists, engineers and thought-leaders who have made impactful contributions in the science-policy sphere.  They hail from different countries and regions, disciplines, sectors and career stages; having been nominated by ISC Members, Governing Board and Fellowship Council members, and sister networks like the Global Young Academy and InterAcademy Partnership.  The three outgoing ISC patrons – Mary Robinson, Ismail Serageldin and Vint Cerf – have been awarded Honorary Fellowship status, in special recognition of their outstanding support to ISC. 

ISC President Peter Gluckman said:

“I am delighted to announce the election of Honorary Fellows and ISC Fellows today during the 2022 World Science Forum.  Recognised for their service to science for society, these individuals  have and will continue to play an important role in ISC’s mission to use science as a global public good.  They bring a diversity of experience, insight and perspective and I look forward to working with them over the coming months and years.  Our mission has never been more urgent. I would like to add my special and wholehearted thanks to our outgoing Patrons, who have now been endowed Honorary Fellowships for their distinguished contributions to the goals of the ISC”. 

Download the list of Fellows appointed in 2022.

Find out more about the Fellowship scheme. 


Skip to content