Sign up

Jenny Baeseman appointed SCAR Executive Director

Dr Jenny Baeseman has just been hired as the new Executive Director of the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR). Baeseman has been the Executive Director of the WCRP Climate and Cryosphere (CliC) project since 2012 and previous to that was the Founding Director of the Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS).

Baeseman has a strong history of working with SCAR in these capacities and has spent three field seasons in the McMurdo Dry Valleys and participated in a Students On Ice Antarctic University Expedition to the Antarctic Peninsula. She will begin to transition into the role starting on 1 July and be full time starting on 1 September.

ICSU congratulates Baeseman on the appointment and looks forward to her continuing the excellent trajectory marked by SCAR’s previous executive directors, Colin Summerhayes and Mike Sparrow.

More information is available on the SCAR website.

[related_items ids=”1468″]

Skip to content