New members of the Committee on Freedom and Responsibility in the conduct of Science announced

At its April session, the ICSU Executive Board approved the new members of the ICSU Committee on Freedom and Responsibility in the conduct of Science (CFRS). The committee will continue to be chaired by Leiv K. Sydnes of the University of Bergen, Norway, and the new members will take office from 1 October 2015.

The Committee on Freedom and Responsibility in the conduct of Science (CFRS) serves as the guardian of the ICSU Principle of Universality of Science, which is enshrined in Statute 5 and adherence to which is a condition for ICSU Membership. Its mission is to raise international awareness for and promote freedom and responsibility aspects related to the conduct of science. It does this by issuing advisory material, organising scientific meetings and by considering cases of individual scientists whose human rights are infringed.

More information about the work of the committee can be found on the Freedom & Responsibility Portal of the ICSU website.

The Executive Board at its meeting in April appointed the new members on CFRS and their term of office will last from 1 October 2015 – 30 September 2018.


Leiv K. Sydnes, University of Bergen, Norway


  • Ranjini Bandyopadhyay, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore, India
  • Richard Bourgeois-Doyle, National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa, Canada
  • Merry Bullock, American Psychological Association, Washington, USA
  • Guéladio Cissé, Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute, Basel, Switzerland
  • Roberta D’Alessandro, Leiden University Centre for Linguistics, Leiden, The Netherlands
  • Hasan Dwaik, Beit Hanina, Jerusalem
  • Kumie Inose, Konan University, Kobe, Japan
  • Gaven Martin, New Zealand
  • Alberto Núñez Sellés, Universidad Nacional Evangélica, Santo Domingo, Rep Dominicana
  • Eric Odada, University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • Silke Schicktanz, University of Göttingen, Germany
  • Valérie Schini-Kerth, Université de Strasbourg, France
  • Mark Thorley, Natural Environment Research Council, Swindon, UK

[related_items ids=””]

Skip to content