Sign up

Nominations for the Stein Rokkan Prize 2023 are now open

The annual Prize celebrates the legacy of Stein Rokkan, a true pioneer in comparative social science research, acknowledging a submission deemed a substantial and original contribution in the field.

Deadline: 30 April 2023

💰 Prize fund: €5,000

📚 Field: open to all social science disciplines

📧 Questions? Email

The annual Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research is presented by the International Science Council, the University of Bergen and the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR). Thanks to the generosity of the University of Bergen, it carries a prize fund of €5,000. 

The prize is open to works in comparative studies from all social science disciplines. It is given to a submission deemed by the Jury to be a substantial and original contribution in comparative social science research.

Nomination procedure

Submitting a nomination

To nominate, please email a formal nomination letter to Nominations can be made by scientific institutions (including Universities and Departments, Research Centres, Academies, disciplinary unions or associations and Research Institutions), and should come via the head of the organisation/department.

Only one nomination may be received per institution. Institutions need not be members of either the ISC or ECPR, though Member institutions are encouraged to nominate.

Nominations must include, as three separate PDF files:

  • Formal nomination letter expressing support of the nominee’s candidacy for this award (Document 1)
  • Biography of the candidate including an outline of their work and research interests (Document 2)
  • Book title and year of publication (Document 2)
  • A PDF copy of the book (Document 3) (please note this must be a searchable PDF)


  • The Stein Rokkan Prize is open to candidates from all social science disciplines, who need not be affiliated with a Member institution of either the ISC or ECPR.
  • The work should be a substantial and original contribution to comparative social science research.
  • The work must be a published monograph. Unpublished manuscripts, edited collections, and collected works are not eligible.
  • The book must have been published within the two calendrical years preceding the award. For the Stein Rokkan Prize 2023, books must have been published in 2021 or 2022. No book should be nominated in more than one year.
  • The work should preferably be in English; however, a submission written in another language can be nominated as long as it is accompanied by an English summary of the work.

After the closing date for nominations, publishers may be asked to provide copies of the book in alternative formats for the members of the jury.


  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Nominations from publishers and agencies are not accepted.
  • Members of the ECPR Executive Committee, ISC Governing Board and Secretariat, and Editors of any ECPR books, journals or blog are not eligible for this prize during their term and for a certain buffer period afterwards.
    • Members of the ECPR Executive Committee and ISC Governing Board have a buffer period of three years; the ISC Secretariat and ECPR Editors have a buffer period of one year.
    • The requirement that a work have been published in the previous two years may be waived in this case, so that the work is eligible in the year following the buffer period.


The Jury for this prize is Chaired by a member of the ECPR Executive Committee, and includes a representative from the Universitetet i Bergen and the ISC, as well as two other eminent scholars in the field of social science.

Prize announcement and delivery

The winner will be announced in late 2023.

Learn more about the Stein Rokkan Prize, its history and past winners.

Skip to content