可持续发展的科学使命

成为改变游戏规则的集体行动的一部分,塑造科学和人类的未来。

状态: 进行
向下滚动

目前,2030 年议程已完成一半以上,正如联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯所指出的,可持续发展目标的进展尚未步入正轨。我们必须胸怀大志,具有颠覆性,并共同赋予科学力量,以实现 21 世纪可持续的社会变革,以实现可持续议程的雄心。

征集提案活动现已结束,共收到 250 多份意向书。全球征集评选委员会将在 2024 年 XNUMX 月底之前仔细评估这些提案。

为了试行应对可持续发展挑战的“大科学方法”,国际科学理事会邀请新颖、创新、协作的联盟共同设计和开展可持续发展科学任务,并邀请有远见的资助者和合作伙伴加入并支持这一大胆的合作努力!

“不可持续发展引发的无数问题需要科学界、资助者、政策制定者、科技公司和慈善家之间的合作。拟议的可持续发展科学任务将彻底改变科学的实施方式——将知识转化为可行的解决方案。加入这一重要倡议,做出改变,帮助实现可持续的未来。”

萨尔瓦多·阿里科

萨尔瓦多·阿里科

CEO

国际科学理事会

萨尔瓦多·阿里科

试点可持续科学的新模式

过去,国际社会支持基础科学和基础设施方面的大科学方法,例如 欧洲核子研究中心。现在,是时候以欧洲核子研究中心的思维方式思考解决紧迫的生存风险,特别是在那些面临全球挑战带来的不成比例的负担和影响的地区,以及可持续发展目标进展最滞后的地区。

我们推荐使用 全球可持续发展科学使命委员会在 2023 年联合国高级别政治论坛上发布的开创性报告,“翻转科学模型:可持续发展科学任务路线图,”概述了这个有远见的模型。它旨在将科学、政策和社会之间的合作提升到新的高度,为我们前所未有的时代量身定制。目标是使知识完全可操作、集成和参与,旨在找到与人类最关键挑战的规模相匹配的解决方案。

在 翻转科学模型 全球委员会报告 提议建立可持续发展科学任务网络。 每个任务将侧重于动员协调一致、基于科学的集体行动,以应对全球、区域和地方各级复杂的可持续发展挑战。

ISC 与全球委员会认为,迫切需要试点新的科学工作模式,特别是当我们进入 国际可持续发展科学十年.

“人们普遍认识到,科学在推进可持续发展目标方面发挥着至关重要的作用。然而,在 2030 年前,需要果断的领导和协调一致的努力,优先考虑实现这些目标的关键领域,同时利用最新的科学进步。ISC 发起的科学任务旨在确定并迅速实施集体行动,以在此时间范围内最大限度地发挥科学的效益,应对紧迫的形势”。

玛查里亚·卡莫

玛查里亚·卡莫

名誉研究员(2023 年)

玛查里亚·卡莫

全球呼吁试点任务和有远见的资助者的支持

我们正在寻找新颖、创新、协作和多元化的联盟来共同设计并开展突破性的科学任务,以应对复杂的可持续发展挑战.

此次全球征集旨在选择最多五个试点任务来测试拟议的模型,彻底检查其执行情况、结果和影响。成功的试点将为调整和扩展该模型奠定基础。

选定的试点将展示真正协作的跨学科努力在帮助快速实现可持续发展目标和加速社会向可持续发展转型方面的价值。 

我们邀请 新颖的合作联盟 由科学家和科学组织、政策制定者、非政府组织、社区和私营部门组成,致力于为复杂的可持续发展挑战确定解决方案,在最初的 18 个月内共同设计有针对性的可持续发展科学任务。全球试点任务的招标现已开放,但我们正在 强烈鼓励由位于全球南方的机构领导的试点申请.

“我们科学界需要勇敢采取行动,正面应对全球挑战。 ISC 的可持续发展科学使命是一项大胆而新颖的举措,它将科学、政策和社会团结起来,以实现可持续和公平的未来。作为联合国教科文组织社会和人文科学部助理总干事,我很荣幸能够参与这一全球努力!”

加布里埃拉·拉莫斯

加布里埃拉·拉莫斯

ISC 院士 (2023)

加布里埃拉·拉莫斯

为了成功实施科学任务,需要大量资金。跨融资部门的战略合作和汇集资源对于最大限度地提高影响力和效率至关重要。资助者尽早参与任务协同设计过程至关重要。最初,我们的目标是在 250,000 个月的联合设计阶段为每个试点任务获得高达 18 美元的资金。在共同设计之后,我们的目标是确保获得全额任务实施资金。

虽然有几位资助者表示了兴趣,但目前还没有获得任何资金。一个由知名人士组成的高级评选委员会将选出入围的联盟,之后将在今年晚些时候组织配对活动,将入围的试点项目与感兴趣的资助者联系起来,并讨论资金需求。目标是在 2025 年第一季度启动五个试点任务,前提是获得共同设计阶段的资金。

申请过程包括提交 表达兴趣预计长度约为 2000 字,仅邀请入围的意向书来制定完整的投标。

了解有关此次征集的更多信息、范围、申请和选择流程、时间范围和财政支持:

历史:全球资助者论坛

认识到利用科学促进可持续发展的迫切需要,ISC 和合作伙伴发起了全球资助者论坛——一个汇集了来自国家研究资助机构、国际发展援助机构、私人基金会和科学机构的领导人的协作平台。

认识到充分利用科学促进可持续发展的必要性,国际科学理事会于 2019 年发起了全球资助者论坛 (GFF) 倡议。与国际应用系统分析研究所 (IIASA)、瑞典发展合作署等知名组织合作(Sida) 等人,ISC 将 GFF 建立为一个包容性平台。 GFF 由来自国家研究资助机构、发展援助机构、私人基金会和科学机构的领导人组成,致力于扩大全球资助和科学系统内的集体努力,以增强科学对可持续发展目标实施的影响。

首届论坛于 2019 年在华盛顿特区由美国国家科学院主办,代表不同领域的 XNUMX 名领导人发起了“全球可持续发展科学行动十年”。在整个十年中,科学资助者和研究界的目标是采取整体方法来应对全球挑战,强调跨学科知识创造,促进任务驱动的研究,并支持能力发展和知识经纪等基本支持活动。

此外,科学资助者委托国际科学理事会制定科学优先行动议程,以促进社会向可持续发展转型。经过全球呼吁和广泛的文献审查,国际科学理事会制定了两份重要报告:“释放科学:实现可持续发展的使命“和”综合科学研究空白,使社会能够在 2030 年之前实现可持续发展目标”,于2021年发布。

《释放科学》报告呼吁齐心协力,通过一系列可持续发展科学任务,利用目的驱动的科学以及政策制定者、民间社会和私营部门的参与,产生可付诸行动的知识。该报告在 2021 年 XNUMX 月举行的 GFF 第二届会议上提交,引起了广泛关注,ISC 的任务是牵头开展磋商进程,以确定执行这些任务的体制安排和融资机制。

这项倡议促成了全球可持续发展科学任务委员会的成立,该委员会在技术顾问小组 (TAG) 的支持下,制定了可持续发展科学任务实施模型。该模型概述如下: 翻转科学模型:可持续发展科学任务路线图 报告。

为了试点可持续发展科学任务模式,国际科学理事会发起了全球呼吁。理事会邀请有远见的资助者支持全球可持续发展科学任务的制定和执行。这些任务旨在以必要的速度和规模部署全球跨学科科学,以应对我们最紧迫的可持续发展挑战。

对于那些有兴趣加入富有远见的资助者和合作伙伴联盟的人,请联系 Katsia Paulavets: katsia.paulavets@council.science.

我们的合作伙伴

该倡议由国际科学理事会与瑞典发展合作署 (Sida)、国家科学基金会 (美国)、国家研究基金会 (南非)、国际发展研究中心 (加拿大)、英国研究与创新、国际应用系统分析研究所(奥地利)、未来地球、贝尔蒙特论坛和大众基金会。

有关更多背景信息,另请参阅: 

新闻与活动 查看全部

消息
28 May 2024 - 4最小读取

联盟还有几天时间提交 ISC 可持续发展科学使命全球征集申请

了解更多 详细了解联盟还有几天时间提交 ISC 全球可持续发展科学任务征集申请
消息
21 2024三月 - 8最小读取

全球呼吁可持续发展科学使命|截止日期:31月XNUMX日

了解更多 详细了解全球可持续发展科学任务征集 | 截止日期:31 月 XNUMX 日
事件
25 2024月 - 26 2024月

全球可持续发展科学使命征集问答环节

了解更多 详细了解可持续发展科学任务全球呼吁问答环节

项目团队

卡西娅·保拉维茨

卡西娅·保拉维茨

高级科学主任

国际科学理事会

卡西娅·保拉维茨

已发表的研究 查看全部

出版物
代表们需要在17年2023月XNUMX日之前预订并付款,

翻转科学模型:可持续发展科学任务路线图

了解更多 详细了解“翻转科学模式:可持续发展科学任务路线图”
出版物
代表们需要在11年2023月XNUMX日之前预订并付款,

实施可持续发展科学使命的模型:由技术咨询小组向可持续发展科学使命全球委员会提出

了解更多 详细了解可持续发展科学任务实施模式:由可持续发展科学任务全球委员会技术顾问组提出
出版物
22 September 2021

释放科学:实现可持续发展的使命

了解更多 详细了解释放科学潜能:实现可持续发展的使命

订阅我们的时事通讯

订阅 国际学习中心月刊 接收来自ISC和更广泛的科学界的重要更新,并查看有关开放科学、联合国等的更专业的新闻通讯。

请在您的浏览器中启用 JavaScript 以填写此表格。
波浪
跳到内容

Sign up

Science Missions for Sustainability

Be part of the game-changing collective action that shapes the future of science and humanity.

Status: In progress
Scroll down

We are now more than halfway through the 2030 Agenda, and as pointed out by the UN Secretary General, António Guterres, progress on the Sustainable Development Goals is not on track. We must think big, be disruptive and collectively empower science for sustainable societal transformations in the 21st century in order to achieve the ambitions of the Sustainable Agenda.

The call for proposals has now closed, having received over 250 expressions of interest. The Selection Committee is carefully assessing each proposal at the moment. Given the high number of applications, the selection process is taking longer than anticipated. The results will be announced in the second half of July.

To pilot a “big science approach” to sustainability challenges, the International Science Council invites novel, innovative, collaborative consortia to co-design and embark on Science Missions for Sustainability as well as visionary funders and partners to join and support this bold collaborative effort!

“The myriad issues stemming from unsustainable development necessitate collaboration among the scientific community, funders, policymakers, tech firms, and philanthropists. The proposed science missions for sustainability are a game-changer in the way science is implemented – translating knowledge into actionable solutions. Join this crucial initiative to make a difference and help achieve a sustainable future.”

Salvatore Aricò

Salvatore Aricò

CEO

International Science Council

Salvatore Aricò

Piloting the new modality of sustainability science

In the past, the global community has supported big science approaches in basic science and infrastructure, such as CERN. Now, it is the time to think with a CERN mindset to address urgent existential risks, particularly in the regions that face disproportionate burdens and impacts arising from global challenges, and where the SDG progress is lagging the most.

The Global Commission on Science Missions for Sustainability‘s groundbreaking report, unveiled at the 2023 UN High-Level Political Forum, “Flipping the Science Model: A Roadmap to Science Missions for Sustainability,” outlines this visionary model. It seeks to elevate the collaboration between science, policy, and society to new heights, tailored for our unprecedented era. The goal is to render knowledge fully actionable, integrated, and engaged, aiming for solutions that match the scale of humanity’s most critical challenges.

In the Flipping the Science Model report, the Global Commission proposes to establish a network of Science Missions for Sustainability. Each Mission will focus on mobilizing coordinated, collective science-based actions towards addressing complex sustainability challenges at the global, regional and local levels.

The ISC together with the Global Commission believes there is an urgency to pilot the new modality for science efforts, particularly as we enter the International Decade of Sciences for Sustainable Development.

“It is widely recognized that science plays a crucial role in advancing sustainable development goals. However, the timeframe leading up to 2030 requires decisive leadership and coordinated efforts that prioritize critical areas for achieving these goals while leveraging the latest scientific advancements. The scientific missions initiated by the ISC aim to identify and swiftly implement collective actions to maximize the benefits of science within this timeframe, responding to the pressing urgency of the situation”.

Macharia Kamau

Macharia Kamau

Ambassador and Special Envoy

East Africa Community Facilitator on DRC

Macharia Kamau

Global Call for Pilot Missions and for Visionary Funders’ support

Through the call, we sought novel, innovative, collaborative, and diverse consortia to co-design and embark on groundbreaking Science Missions to tackle complex sustainability challenges head-on.

This Global Call aims to select up to five Pilot Missions to test the proposed model, thoroughly examining their execution, outcomes, and impact. Successful Pilots will set the stage for adapting and expanding the model.

The selected Pilots will demonstrate the value of truly collaborative transdisciplinary efforts in helping fast-track the achievement of the SDGs and accelerating societal transformation to sustainability. 

We invited novel collaborative consortia of scientists and scientific organizations, policy-makers, non-governmental organizations, communities, and the private sector, working on the cutting edge of identifying solutions for complex sustainability challenges, to co-design targeted Science Missions for sustainability over an initial 18-month period.

“We in the scientific community need to act courageously to tackle global challenges head-on. The ISC’s Science Missions for Sustainability is a bold and novel initiative that unites science, policy, and society for a sustainable and equitable future. As Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences of UNESCO, it’s an honour to be part of this global effort!”

Gabriela Ramos

Gabriela Ramos

Assistant Director-General for the Social and Human Sciences

UNESCO

Gabriela Ramos

To implement Science Missions successfully, significant funding is needed. Collaborating strategically across funding sectors and pooling resources is crucial to maximize impact and efficiency. Early engagement of funders in the mission co-design process is critical. Initially, we aim to secure up to $250,000 per Pilot Mission the 18-month co-design phase. Following co-design, our objective is to secure full mission implementation funding.

While several funders have shown interest, no funding is currently secured. A high-level selection committee made up of eminent individuals will choose shortlisted consortia, after which matchmaking events will be organized later this year to connect shortlisted Pilots with interested funders and discuss funding needs. The goal is to launch five Pilot Missions in the first quarter of 2025, contingent on securing funding for the co-design phase.

The application process included the submission of an expression of interest of about 2000 words, with only shortlisted expressions of interest invited to develop a full bid.

Learn more about the call, its scope, the application and selection processes, timeframe and financial support:

History: the Global Forum of Funders

Acknowledging the pressing need to leverage science for sustainable development, the ISC and partners initiated the Global Forum of Funders – a collaborative platform bringing together leaders from national research funding agencies, international development aid agencies, private foundations, and scientific institutions.

Recognizing the imperative to fully leverage science for sustainable development, the International Science Council launched the Global Forum of Funders (GFF) initiative in 2019. Collaborating with esteemed organizations such as the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), the Swedish Development Cooperation Agency (Sida), and others, the ISC established the GFF as an inclusive platform. Comprising leaders from national research funding agencies, development aid agencies, private foundations, and scientific institutions, the GFF is dedicated to amplifying collective efforts within global funding and science systems to enhance the impact of science on SDG implementation.

The inaugural Forum convened in 2019, hosted by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in Washington D.C. Eighty leaders representing various sectors launched the Decade of Global Sustainability Science Action. Throughout the Decade, science funders and the research community aim to adopt a holistic approach to addressing global challenges, emphasizing transdisciplinary knowledge creation, promoting mission-driven research, and supporting essential enabling activities such as capacity development and knowledge brokerage.

Furthermore, science funders entrusted the International Science Council with crafting a priority action agenda for science to facilitate societal transformations toward sustainability. Following a global call and extensive literature review, the ISC developed two key reports: “Unleashing Science: Delivering Missions for Sustainability” and “A Synthesis of Research Gaps for Science to Enable Societies to Accomplish the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030,” published in 2021.

The Unleashing Science report called for a concerted effort to produce actionable knowledge through a set of science missions for sustainability, leveraging purpose-driven science alongside the engagement of policymakers, civil society, and the private sector. Presented at the second session of the GFF in April 2021, the report garnered substantial attention, leading to the ISC being tasked with spearheading a consultative process to identify institutional arrangements and funding mechanisms for implementing these missions.

This initiative led to the formation of the Global Commission on Science Missions for Sustainability, which, with support from the Technical Advisory Group (TAG), developed a model for implementing Science Missions for Sustainability. This model is outlined in the Flipping the Science Model: A Roadmap to Science Missions for Sustainability report.

To pilot the Science Missions for Sustainability model, the International Science Council has initiated a global call. The Council invites visionary funders to champion the development and execution of Science Missions for Sustainability worldwide. These missions are designed to deploy global transdisciplinary science at the necessary pace and scale to address our most pressing sustainability challenges.

For those interested in joining the coalition of visionary funders and partners, please contact Katsia Paulavets at katsia.paulavets@council.science.

Our partners

The initiative is led by the International Science Council in partnership with the Swedish Development Cooperation Agency (Sida), National Science Foundation (USA), National Research Foundation (South Africa), International Development Research Centre (Canada), UK Research and Innovation, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (Austria), Future Earth, Belmont Forum and Volkswagen Stiftung.

For more background information, see also: 

News & Events View all

news
28 May 2024 - 4 min read

A few more days for consortia to submit applications for the ISC’s Global Call on Science Missions for Sustainability

Learn more Learn more about A few more days for consortia to submit applications for the ISC’s Global Call on Science Missions for Sustainability
news
21 March 2024 - 8 min read

Global Call for Science Missions for Sustainability | deadline: 31 May

Learn more Learn more about Global Call for Science Missions for Sustainability | deadline: 31 May
events
25 April 2024 - 26 April 2024

Q&A Sessions for the Global Call on Science Missions for Sustainability

Learn more Learn more about Q&A Sessions for the Global Call on Science Missions for Sustainability

Project team

Katsia Paulavets

Katsia Paulavets

Senior Science Officer

International Science Council

Katsia Paulavets
Vanessa McBride

Vanessa McBride

Science Director, Acting Head of the Centre for Science Futures

International Science Council

Vanessa McBride
Léa Nacache

Léa Nacache

Communications Officer

International Science Council

Léa Nacache
Olivia Tighe

Olivia Tighe

Administrative Officer

International Science Council

Olivia Tighe

Publications View all

publications
17 July 2023

Flipping the Science Model: A Roadmap to Science Missions for Sustainability

Learn more Learn more about Flipping the Science Model: A Roadmap to Science Missions for Sustainability
publications
11 July 2023

A Model for Implementing Mission Science for Sustainability: proposed by the Technical Advisory Group to the Global Commission on Science Missions for Sustainability

Learn more Learn more about A Model for Implementing Mission Science for Sustainability: proposed by the Technical Advisory Group to the Global Commission on Science Missions for Sustainability
publications
22 September 2021

Unleashing Science: Delivering Missions for Sustainability

Learn more Learn more about Unleashing Science: Delivering Missions for Sustainability

Sign up to our newsletters

Subscribe to the ISC Monthly to receive key updates from the ISC and the broader scientific community, and check out our more specialized newsletters on Open Science, United Nations, and more.

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Waves
Skip to content