非洲 2030 年议程的领先综合研究 (LIRA 2030)

在非洲领先的 2030 年议程综合研究是一项为期 5 年的计划,旨在提高非洲早期职业科学家对全球可持续性的高质量、综合(跨学科和跨学科)、以解决方案为导向的研究的产出。 这些知识将用于解决该地区复杂的可持续性挑战。

LIRA 2030 计划(非洲 2030 年议程的领先综合研究)于 2016 年启动,旨在促进非洲对实施 2030 年可持续发展议程的科学贡献,特别是在城市环境中。 它由国际科学理事会及其 非洲区域办事处 并与 非洲科学院网络 (NASAC). 该计划由 瑞典国际开发合作署(Sida) 并将持续到 2021 年 XNUMX 月。

阅读最新的 LIRA 报告,该报告描述了通过跨学科研究在一系列非洲城市开展的科学、政策和社会之间合作的例子

❓ 它是为谁准备的?

该计划旨在促进研究合作,主要是在非洲的早期职业科学家之间进行研究合作,他们在获得博士学位后的工作经验不超过 10 年,或具有同等研究经验。 特别强调确保低收入国家的参与(基于经合组织官方发展援助的排名) 在研究合作中。

🌍 这是关于什么的?

这项为期五年的研究资助计划旨在增加非洲城市可持续发展的面向解决方案、情境化和政策相关知识的生产和使用。 LIRA 计划的显着特点是它促进跨学科 (TD) 研究,这是一种面向特定社会挑战并整合来自不同科学学科和非学术利益相关者的知识和观点的知识生产协作模式。

通过知识共同生产,LIRA 计划力求把握城市挑战的复杂性,考虑到科学和社会对问题的看法的多样性,并 增加科学证据的使用,作为城市政策制定和实践的基础.

为实现其目标,LIRA 计划支持非洲早期职业科学家领导合作研究项目,与地方当局、社区、行业和政府合作,探索重新思考非洲城市未来的新方法。

🌟 它是如何工作的

LIRA 2030 计划不仅通过赠款,还通过培训研讨会、年度研究论坛以及领导力和职业发展为其参与者提供支持。


综合研究培训活动

为实现其目标,该计划将提供培训活动,以加强非洲的科学能力,以应用共同设计和共同生产的新方法,以及进行高质量综合研究所需的其他相关方法。 每次培训还将包括有关提案制定和科学交流的模块。

为了确定培训参与者,发起了公开征集预提案。 成功的预提案的代表被邀请参加培训研讨会,之后参与者有 2-3 个月的时间来制定完整的提案。 成功的完整提案将获得 2 年的研究资助(见下文)。 培训是赠款的一个组成部分,以确保早期职业科学家拥有必要的技能和知识来制定综合研究建议并进行此类研究。 第一次培训研讨会于 3 年 7 月 2016 日至 2016 日在内罗毕举行。第二次培训活动于 28 年 1 月 2017 日至 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日在马克雷雷大学的坎帕拉举行。

在该计划期间,总共将举办三场培训讲习班。 这些将由 ISC 与 ISC ROA 和 NASAC 以及非洲其他相关机构合作交付。


合作研究资助

该计划将提供为期两年的合作研究资助(每年 90 000 欧元/2 年),通过将跨学科和国家的早期职业科学家联系起来,促进区域层面的全球可持续性研究合作。 这些赠款还将支持与利益相关者的研究共同设计和共同生产。

只有综合研究培训活动的参与者(见上文)才有资格申请资助。

5年后,该计划旨在巩固 一个由 30 多个关于全球可持续性的综合研究项目组成的网络. 这些项目产生的研究应该提供证据并创造工具来支持非洲复杂的可持续性挑战的决策。 这些知识还将用于为政府间政策进程提供信息(例如,2030 年议程、仙台减少灾害风险框架、人居三、IPCC 等)。

两个非洲机构(NASAC 和 ISC ROA)将管理研究资助计划。


年度研究论坛

该计划将组织年度研究论坛,以促进支持的研究项目之间的合作和网络。 项目代表将受邀参加这些活动,与同行分享他们的成果和经验。 这些活动有望促进科学交流并在项目之间建立新的研究合作。 为促进跨区域合作和与非学术利益相关者的合作,其他相关全球研究项目的代表、决策者和从业者也将受邀参加。 这些活动还将包括能力建设活动,以加强项目的科学交流和对政府技能的科学建议。

总共计划在该计划期间举办三个年度开放研究论坛,由 ISC ROA 与 ISC 和 NASAC 合作组织。


领导力和职业发展

该计划还将通过提名他们参加国际科学委员会和会议、工作组和政府间政策进程,为该计划支持的早期职业科学家提供国际职业发展机会。


征集预提案

在该计划过程中,共发起了三项预提案征集活动。

第一个电话会议的重点是了解非洲城市环境中的“能源-健康-自然灾害”关系。

第二个电话接通了 推动在非洲城市实施可持续发展目标 11.

第三次通话已开启 通往可持续非洲城市发展的途径.

📋 治理与管理

为了监督 LIRA 2030 计划的实施和战略发展,2016 年 XNUMX 月任命了一个咨询委员会。该委员会包括来自非洲的科学家、利益相关者代表和所有相关合作伙伴的领导代表:

  • Cheikh Mbow – 执行董事:START International Inc.
  • Nelson Sewankambo – 乌干达麦克雷雷大学健康科学学院医学教授兼校长
  • Nick Perkins – SciDev.Net 总监
  • Peggy Oti-Boateng – 科学与技术高级计划专家和 ANSTI 协调员,联合国教科文组织南部非洲 MSRO
  • Samuel Babatunde-Agbola – 尼日利亚伊巴达大学社会科学学院城市与区域规划系
  • Shuaib Lwasa – 乌干达马克雷雷大学地理系 IRDR 科学委员会主席
  • Susan Parnell – 南非开普敦大学环境与地理科学系非洲城市中心主任,城市健康与福祉科学委员会前成员
  • Elvin Nyukuri – 肯尼亚内罗毕大学早期职业科学家,人文与社会科学学院环境法与政策高级研究中心
  • Heide Hackmann (当然) – ISC 首席执行官
  • Daniel Nyanganyura(当然)——ISC ROA 主任
  • Mathieu Denis(当然)——ISC 科学总监

该委员会将每年开会确定该计划的科学战略,根据对研究提案的审查做出研究资助决定,并就该计划的进一步发展达成一致。

已成立一个由 ISC、ISC 非洲区域办事处和 NASAC 的代表组成的管理团队,以推动该计划的实施,同时考虑到咨询委员会的决定。

📈 迄今为止的进展

自 2016 年启动以来,该计划已经发起了三个公开征集预提案:

  1. 了解非洲城市的“能源-健康”和“健康-自然灾害”关系 (2016);
  2. 在非洲城市推进 SDG11 的实施 (2017); 和
  3. 非洲可持续城市发展的途径 (2018)。

由于这些呼吁,该计划支持了 28 个合作研究项目(两年内每个项目的价值高达 90,000 欧元),旨在解决非洲城市环境中的复杂挑战。 每个项目都汇集了非洲至少两个国家的城市。 目标是促进非洲研究机构之间的研究合作和跨城市的学习。 特别强调确保低收入国家参与研究合作。 项目覆盖非洲XNUMX个国家,包括安哥拉、贝宁、布基纳法索、喀麦隆、刚果民主共和国、埃塞俄比亚、加纳、科特迪瓦、肯尼亚、马拉维、莫桑比克、纳米比亚、尼日尔、尼日利亚、卢旺达、塞内加尔、南非、坦桑尼亚、多哥、乌干达、赞比亚和津巴布韦。

LIRA 计划还为入围项目的主要研究人员提供为期五天的培训研讨会,以培养他们进行 TD 研究的科学能力,支持研究人员建立有意义的跨学科和跨学科项目,以支持全面的建议并加强科学沟通技巧。 举办了三场讲习班:2016 年 XNUMX 月在肯尼亚内罗毕; 在 坎帕拉,乌干达,2017 年 XNUMX 月; 并且在 阿比让,科特迪瓦,2018 年 100 月。来自非洲各地的大约 XNUMX 名处于职业生涯早期的科学家接受了培训。 该计划还为选定项目的共同研究人员提供 TD 培训活动。

LIRA 2030 Africa 还通过年度研究论坛为科学交流以及南南和南北研究合作提供机会。 举办了三场论坛:在 阿布贾,尼日利亚,2017 年 XNUMX 月; 在 达喀尔,塞内加尔,2019 年 XNUMX 月; 并且在 亚的斯亚贝巴,埃塞俄比亚,2020 年 2016 月。早期职业科学家还可以通过参与国际科学委员会和会议、工作组和政府间政策进程来获得职业发展机会。 例如,在 2019-XNUMX 年期间,LIRA 受助者出席了联合国 STI 论坛、可持续发展高级别政治论坛、IPCC 城市与气候变化科学会议、国际跨学科会议等。 科学家们有机会展示他们的研究,为对话做出贡献,建立新的网络和合作。

🤝 有兴趣为这个项目做贡献吗?

尽管对综合研究的需求很大,但机构和资金支持仍然不足,特别是在欠发达国家。 这项为期 5 年的计划旨在通过让区域利益相关者参与研究、能力建设和网络活动以及与资助机构和主要区域机构举行战略会议来增加全球和区域机构和财政支持。 因此,如果您的组织有兴趣支持综合研究和相关的能力建设和网络活动,请联系 lira2030africa@council.science 讨论合作机会。

📖 迄今为止发表的涉及 LIRA 研究人员的文章

以下是 LIRA 研究人员迄今为止发表的文章列表。 许多手稿已提交审阅,尚未发表。

▶ 视频

点击右上角的“1/15”标志查看所有LIRA视频

改变路线:德班变革性河流管理研究

纪录片,德班 LIRA2030 团队, 七月二十三日

RICHE 非洲研讨会

Tolullah Oni 博士,7 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日

为什么南非是世界上最不平等的国家

LIRA 受赠人 Justin Visagie, 27年2021月XNUMX日

帕金顿项目

LIRA 受赠人 Justin Visagie, 七月二十三日


博客


分享:

跳到内容

Leading Integrated Research for Agenda 2030 in Africa (LIRA 2030)

Leading Integrated Research for Agenda 2030 in Africa is a 5-year programme that seeks to increase the production of high-quality, integrated (inter- and transdisciplinary), solutions-oriented research on global sustainability by early career scientists in Africa. The knowledge will be used to address complex sustainability challenges in the region.

The LIRA 2030 programme (Leading Integrated Research for Agenda 2030 in Africa) was launched in 2016 to foster scientific contributions from Africa to the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, especially in the urban context. It is run by the International Science Council together with its Regional Office for Africa and in strong partnership with the Network of African Science Academies (NASAC). The programme is supported by the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida) and will run until December 2021.

Read the latest LIRA report that describes examples of collaboration between science, policy and society carried out through transdisciplinary research in a range of African cities

❓ Who is it for?

The programme aims to foster research collaboration primarily among early career scientists based in Africa with no more than 10 years’ work experience following their PhDs, or equivalent research experience. A particular emphasis is on ensuring participation of low-income countries (based on OECD ODA’s ranking) in research collaboration.

🌍 What is it about?

The five-year research funding programme seeks to increase the production and use of solution-oriented, contextualized and policy-relevant knowledge on sustainable development in cities across Africa. The distinctive feature of the LIRA programme is that it promotes transdisciplinary (TD) research, which is a collaborative mode of knowledge production that is oriented towards specific societal challenges and integrates knowledge and perspectives from different scientific disciplines and non – academic stakeholders.

Through knowledge co-production, the LIRA programme seeks to grasp the complexity of urban challenges, to take in account the diversity of scientific and societal views of the problems, and to increase the use of the scientific evidence as a basis for urban policy development and practice.

To achieve its objectives, the LIRA programme supports African early career scientists to lead collaborative research projects that explore new approaches to re-thinking urban futures in Africa, in partnership with local authorities, communities, industry and government.

🌟 How it works

The LIRA 2030 programme supports its participants not only through grants, but also through training workshops, annual research forums and leadership and career advancement.


Training activities on integrated research

To achieve its objectives, the programme will provide training activities to strengthen scientific capacity in Africa to apply novel methodologies on co-design and co-production, and other relevant approaches required for undertaking high quality integrated research. Each training will also include modules on proposal development and science communication.

To identify participants for training, open calls for pre-proposals are launched. Representatives of successful pre-proposals are invited to participate in training workshops, following which participants are given 2-3 months to develop full proposals. Successful full proposals will receive 2-year research grants (see below). The training is an integral part of the grants in order to ensure that early career scientists have the necessary skills and knowledge to develop integrated research proposals and undertake this type of research. The first training workshop took place on 3-7 October 2016 in Nairobi 2016. The second training event took place in Kampala, at Makerere University, on 28 August- 1 September 2017.

In total, three training workshops will take place during the course of the programme. These will be delivered by ISC in partnership with ISC ROA and NASAC and other relevant institutions in Africa.


Collaborative research grants

The programme will provide two-year collaborative research grants (90 000 EUR each/2years) to foster research collaboration on global sustainability at the regional level by linking early career scientists across disciplines and countries. These grants will also support research co-design and co-production with stakeholders.

Only participants of the training activities on integrated research (see above) will be eligible to apply for the grants.

After 5 years, the programme aims to consolidate a network of over 30 integrated research projects on global sustainability. The research produced by these projects should provide the evidence and create tools to support decision-making on complex sustainability challenges in Africa. The knowledge will also be used to inform intergovernmental policy processes (e.g. Agenda 2030, the Sendai Framework on Disaster Risk Reduction, Habitat III, IPCC and others).

Two Africa-based institutions (NASAC and ISC ROA), will be managing the research funding scheme.


Annual Research Forums

The programme will organize annual research forums to foster collaboration and networking between the supported research projects. Projects’ representatives will be invited to attend these events to share their results and experience with their peers. These events are expected to promote scientific exchanges and forge new research collaboration among projects. To foster cross-regional collaboration and with non-academic stakeholders, representatives from other relevant global research projects, decision makers and practitioners will also be invited to attend. The events will also include capacity building activities to strengthen projects’ science communication and science advice to governments skills.

In total, three annual open research forums are planned to take place during the programme, organized by ISC ROA in partnership with the ISC and NASAC.


Leadership and career advancement

The programme will also provide international career development opportunities for the early career scientists supported by the programme by nominating them for international scientific committees and conferences, working groups, and inter-governmental policy processes.


Call for pre-proposals

Over the course of the programme, a total of three calls for pre-proposals were launched.

The first call focused on understanding the “Energy-Health-Natural Disasters” nexus in the urban context in Africa.

The second call was on Advancing the implementation of Sustainable Development Goal 11 on cities in Africa.

The third call was on Pathways towards Sustainable African Urban Development.

📋 Governance & Management

To oversee the implementation and strategic development of the LIRA 2030 programme, an advisory committee was appointed in June 2016. This committee includes scientists from Africa, stakeholder representatives and leadership representatives of all partners involved:

  • Cheikh Mbow – Executive Director: START International Inc.
  • Nelson Sewankambo – Professor of Medicine and Principal, Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Uganda
  • Nick Perkins – Director, SciDev.Net
  • Peggy Oti-Boateng – Senior Programme Specialist for S&T and Coordinator ANSTI, UNESCO MSRO for Southern Africa
  • Samuel Babatunde-Agbola – Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Faculty of the Social Sciences University of Ibada, Nigeria
  • Shuaib Lwasa – Chair of the IRDR Science Committee, Department of Geography, Makerere University, Uganda
  • Susan Parnell – Executive of the African Centre for Cities, Department of Environmental and Geographical Sciences, University of Cape Town, South Africa, former member of the Urban Health and Well-being Science Committee
  • Elvin Nyukuri – early career scientist, University of Nairobi, Kenya, Centre for Advanced Studies in Environmental Law and Policy, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Heide Hackmann (ex-officio) – ISC Chief Executive Director
  • Daniel Nyanganyura (ex-officio) – Director of ISC ROA
  • Mathieu Denis (ex-officio) – ISC Science Director

The committee will meet every year to define the programme’s scientific strategy, make research funding decisions based on the review of research proposals and agree on the further development of the programme.

A management team composed of representatives of ISC, the ISC Regional Office for Africa and NASAC has been established to drive the implementation of the programme, taking into account decisions made by the advisory committee.

📈 Progress up to date

Since its inception in 2016, the programme has launched three open calls for pre-proposals:

  1. Understanding the ‘energy-health’ and ‘health-natural disasters’ nexuses in African cities (2016);
  2. Advancing the implementation of SDG11 in cities in Africa (2017); and
  3. Pathways towards Sustainable Urban Development in Africa (2018).

As a result of these calls, the programme has supported 28 collaborative research projects (to the value of up to 90,000 Euro each over two years) seeking to address complex challenges in the African urban context. Each project brings together cities in at least two countries in Africa. The goal is to foster research collaboration across African research institutions and learning across cities. A particular emphasis is made on ensuring participation of low-income countries in research collaboration. Twenty-two countries in Africa are covered by the projects, including Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The LIRA programme also provides five-days training workshops for the Principle Investigators of short-listed projects in order to build their scientific capacity to undertake TD research, to support researchers to build meaningful inter- and trans-disciplinary projects, to support the development of full proposals and to strengthen science communication skills. Three workshops have taken place: in Nairobi, Kenya, in October 2016; in Kampala, Uganda, in August 2017; and in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, in September 2018. Around 100 early-career scientists from across Africa have received training. The programme also provides TD training activities to co-investigators of the selected projects.

LIRA 2030 Africa also provides opportunities for scientific exchange and for South–South and North–South research collaboration through Annual Research Forums. Three Forums have taken place: in Abuja, Nigeria in November 2017; in Dakar, Senegal in February 2019; and in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in February 2020. Early-career scientists also have opportunities for career development through participation in international scientific committees and conferences, working groups and inter-governmental policy processes. For instance, during the 2016-2019 period, LIRA grantees were represented at the UN STI Forums, High-level Political Forums on Sustainable Development, the IPCC Cities and Climate Change Science Conference, the International Trans-disciplinary conferences and many others. Scientists had an opportunity to present their research, contribute to the dialogue, build new networks and collaborations.

🤝 Interested in contributing to this programme?

While there is a strong demand for integrated research, institutional and financial support is still insufficient, particularly in less developed countries. The 5-year programme seeks to increase global and regional institutional and financial support by engaging regional stakeholders in research, capacity building, and networking activities and by holding strategic meetings with funding agencies and key regional institutions. Therefore, if your organization is interested in supporting integrated research and associated capacity building and networking activities, please contact lira2030africa@council.science to discuss collaboration opportunities.

📖 Articles published to date that involve LIRA researchers

Below is the list of articles that have been published to date with the contribution of LIRA researchers. A number of manuscripts have been submitted for review and are yet to be published.

▶ Videos

Click on the “1/15” sign in the top right to view all LIRA videos

Changing Course: A look into transformative river management in Durban

Documentary, LIRA2030 team in Durban, 24 July 2020

RICHE Africa Workshop

Dr Tolullah Oni, 7 February 2020

Why South Africa is the most unequal country in the world

LIRA Grantee Justin Visagie, 27 June 2021

The Parkington Project

LIRA Grantee Justin Visagie, 8 July 2021


Blogs


Share: