

List of Governing Board members

Document 4

Revised 10 January 2025

For noting





ISC Governing Board members at of 30 January 2025

Officers

- 1. **Peter Gluckman**, President (University Distinguished Professor and Director, Koi Tū: The Centre for Informed Futures, University of Auckland, New Zealand)
- 2. **Robbert Dijkgraaf**, President-elect (Distinguished University Professor, University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands)*
- 3. **Marcia Barbosa**, Vice-President Freedom and Responsibility in Science (Professor, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)*
- 4. **Motoko Kotani**, Vice-President Science Programmes (Executive Vice President, Tohoku University, Japan)
- 5. **Sawako Shirahase**, Vice-President Finance, Compliance and Risk (Director of the University of Tokyo Center for Contemporary Japanese Studies, Japan)
- 6. **Zhu Yongguan**, Vice-President Membership (Director-General, Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)*

Ordinary members

- 7. **Karina Batthyany** (Executive Secretary, CLACSO-Latin American Council of Social Sciences, and Professor, University of the Republic, Uruguay)
- 8. **Francoise Baylis** (Distinguished Research Professor at Dalhousie University and President-elect of the Royal Society, Canada)
- 9. **Geoffrey Boulton** (Regius Professor of Geology Emeritus, University of Edinburgh, UK)
- 10. Frances Colón (Senior director, American Progress, USA)*
- 11. Catherine Jami (Director of Research, National Centre for Scientific Research, France)*
- 12. **Maria Esteli Jarquin Solis** (International Relations Coordinator, UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, UK)*
- 13. Nalini Joshi (Payne-Scott Professor, University of SydneyAustralia)*
- 14. Mobolaji Oladoyin Odubanjo (Chief Executive, Nigerian Academy of Science, Nigeria)*
- 15. **Walter Oyawa** (Director General of the National Commission for Science, Technology & Innovation (NACOSTI), Kenya)
- 16. Maria Paradiso (University of Naples Federico II, Italy)

Outgoing Governing Board members

- 1. **Salim Abdool Karim**, Vice-President for Membership (Director, Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA), South Africa)
- 2. **Anne Husebekk**, Vice-President for Freedom and Responsibility in Science (UiT The Arctic University of Norway)
- 3. Melody B. Burkins (Director of the Institute of Arctic Studies, Dartmouth University, USA)
- 4. **Mei-Hung Chiu** (Distinguished Professor at the Graduate Institute of Science Education, National Taiwan Normal University, Taipei)
- 5. **Pamela Matson** (Dean emerita of Stanford University's School of Earth, Energy and Environmental Sciences, USA)
- 6. **Helena B. Nader** (Head of the Institute of Pharmacology and Molecular Biology at the Federal University of São Paulo (UNIFESP), Brazil)
- 7. **Martin Visbeck** (Head of research unit Physical Oceanography at GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel and professor at Kiel University, Germany).

^{*}incoming Board member