Australia, Australian Academy of Science

The Australian Academy of Science has been a member since 1919.

The Australian Academy of Science is an independent organization of 443 of Australia’s pre-eminent research scientists, applied scientists and research engineers. Members are elected to Fellowship on the basis of their contributions to research, as assessed by leading scientists in Australia and overseas. The Academy’s principal objectives include the recognition of scientific excellence, promotion of science education and public awareness and the provision to Parliament, government and the community of advice on science policy. It also conducts programmes of scientific exchanges with a number of countries, in addition to its ISC relationships. The Council of the Academy is assisted by 30 National Committees concerned with virtually all scientific disciplines in Australia.