Committee on Space Research (COSPAR)

The Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) was established by our predecessor organization, the International Council for Science, in 1958 as an interdisciplinary scientific body. COSPAR is concerned with the progress on an international scale of all kinds of scientific investigations carried out with space vehicles, rockets and balloons.

The membership of COSPAR is composed of National Academies of Science or the equivalent and International Scientific Unions. The Council, COSPAR’s highest body, is composed of the President, Representatives of member National Scientific Institutions and International Scientific Unions, the Chairs of COSPAR Scientific Commissions, and the Chair of the COSPAR Finance Committee. The COSPAR Bureau runs the Committee on a day-to-day basis between meetings of the Council.

Subscribe to our newsletter