La science ouverte dans le « Sud global »

La promotion et la promotion de la science ouverte sont fondamentales pour réaliser la vision de l'ISC de la science en tant que bien public mondial.

La science ouverte dans le « Sud global »

L'ouverture est au cœur de l'effort scientifique en tant que forme distincte de connaissance basée sur des preuves et testée contre la réalité, la logique et l'examen minutieux des pairs scientifiques. Les archives de la science, son stock évolutif de connaissances, d'idées et de possibilités sont une partie essentielle de l'héritage humain. Mais l'influence et l'utilisation de la science sont devenues si omniprésentes qu'elles ne peuvent pas uniquement être contenues dans la communauté mondiale des scientifiques professionnels. La science doit continuer à évoluer, devenir plus accessible et plus responsable envers les citoyens et les sociétés.

Le mouvement moderne pour la science ouverte embrasse plusieurs perspectives diverses. L'ISC encadre une définition inclusive de la science ouverte comme suit :

Une science ouverte à l'examen et au défi, ainsi qu'aux besoins de connaissances et aux intérêts d'un public plus large. La science ouverte rend les archives de la science, son stock évolutif de connaissances, d'idées et de possibilités accessibles et gratuites à tous, indépendamment de la géographie, du sexe, de l'origine ethnique ou des circonstances socio-économiques. Il rend les données et les preuves de la science accessibles et réutilisables par tous, sous réserve de contraintes de sûreté, de sécurité et de confidentialité. Il est ouvert à l'engagement avec d'autres acteurs de la société dans la poursuite commune de nouvelles connaissances et pour soutenir l'humanité dans la réalisation d'une vie durable et équitable sur la planète Terre.


Ce projet vise à positionner les scientifiques et les systèmes scientifiques des pays du Sud à la pointe de la science ouverte à forte intensité de données, grâce au développement d'efficacités d'échelle, à la création d'une masse critique grâce à des capacités partagées, et à amplifier l'impact grâce à une communauté d'objectifs et voix au niveau régional.

La collaboration régionale qui développe des « plates-formes » ou des « communs » pourrait être une réponse créative aux systèmes scientifiques mal financés. Ces plates-formes pourraient fournir et gérer l'accès aux données, au matériel informatique, à la connectivité et aux outils et concepts requis pour une pratique efficace, dans la formation et le développement des capacités, et dans les activités d'application à forte intensité de données orientées vers des résultats et des résultats scientifiques, sociétaux et économiques productifs qui sont pertinent au niveau régional.

En collaboration avec CODATA, le Conseil a travaillé avec ses bureaux régionaux et d'autres organisations partenaires pour créer des plateformes scientifiques ouvertes régionales qui rassembleront et coordonneront les intérêts, les idées, les personnes, les institutions et les ressources régionales nécessaires pour faire progresser la recherche axée sur les solutions et à forte intensité de données. dans les pays du Sud. Ils sont destinés à créer une masse critique grâce à une capacité partagée et à amplifier l'impact grâce à leur objectif et à leur voix communs. Les plateformes fonctionneront comme des systèmes fédérés, fournissant un tissu conjonctif entre des infrastructures et des acteurs dispersés, les rassemblant pour faire progresser la science basée sur les données dans les pays du Sud pour un bénéfice social et économique.

Une étude pilote pour un Plateforme panafricaine de science ouverte (AOSP) a été lancé en décembre 2016 avec le soutien du ministère sud-africain des sciences et de l'innovation et en collaboration avec l'Académie des sciences d'Afrique du Sud et la Fondation nationale sud-africaine pour la recherche.

S'inspirant de l'exemple africain, il existe désormais des initiatives parallèles en cours de développement en Asie et dans le Pacifique et en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes. Le potentiel d'un réseau Sud-Sud réussi de plates-formes régionales, étroitement lié à des développements analogues dans le Nord global, augure bien d'une saine collaboration mondiale sur un pied d'égalité plutôt que dans le modèle donateur-bénéficiaire du passé récent. L'ISC cherchera du soutien pour un tel réseau. Un Global Open Science Commons peut être un résultat réalisable et souhaitable à plus long terme.

Ce projet a commencé sous notre précédent Plan d'action 2019-2021.


Impact prévu

Positionner les scientifiques et les systèmes scientifiques des pays du Sud à la pointe de la science ouverte à forte intensité de données, grâce au développement d'efficacités d'échelle, à la création d'une masse critique grâce à des capacités partagées et à l'amplification de l'impact grâce à une communauté d'objectifs et de voix au niveau régional .


Jalons clés

✅ En avril 2020, le Fondation nationale de la recherche (NRF) d'Afrique du Sud a accepté d'accueillir le Plateforme africaine de science ouverte (AOSP) Bureau de projet pour les 3 à 5 prochaines années. l'Afrique du Sud Département des sciences et de l'innovation (DSI), des institutions clés en Afrique et le Conseil scientifique international (ISC), l'AOSP (La science pour l'avenir, l'avenir de la science) plaide pour une action audacieuse pour mobiliser la communauté scientifique en Afrique pour répondre aux défis de la révolution numérique. Le nouveau paradigme de Science ouverte est un moteur puissant pour la recherche scientifique et l'érudition et son application aux priorités sociales, économiques et environnementales mondiales.

✅ Un directeur et un sous-directeur de l'AOSP ont été accueillis à bord pour faire avancer le projet.

✅ En juin 2021, CODATA lancé l'initiative GOSC (Global Open Science Cloud), qui vise à encourager la coopération, l'alignement et, à terme, l'interopérabilité entre les Open Science Cloud (OSC) existants et émergents. CODATA est en train de constituer les groupes de travail et études de cas, qui démarreront proprement leurs travaux en septembre 2021.


Contact

Mégha Sud

Officier scientifique
megha.sud@council.science

Passer au contenu

Open Science

Advocating and advancing open science are fundamental to the work of achieving the ISC’s vision of science as a global public good.

Openness is at the heart of the scientific endeavour as a distinct form of knowledge based on evidence and tested against reality, logic and the scrutiny of scientific peers. The record of science, its evolving stock of knowledge, ideas and possibilities is an essential part of the human inheritance. But the influence and the use of science have become so pervasive that it cannot solely be contained within the global community of professional scientists. Science must continue to evolve, becoming more accessible and more accountable to citizens and societies.

The modern movement for open science embraces several, diverse perspectives. The ISC frames an inclusive definition of open science as:

Science that is open to scrutiny and challenge, and to the knowledge needs and interests of wider publics. Open science makes the record of science, its evolving stock of knowledge, ideas and possibilities accessible and free to all, irrespective of geography, gender, ethnicity or socio-economic circumstance. It makes the data and evidence of science accessible and re-usable by all, subject to constraints of safety, security and privacy. It is open to engagement with other societal actors in the common pursuit of new knowledge, and to support humanity in achieving sustainable and equitable life on planet Earth.


The first project, Open Science in the Global South, aims to position scientists and science systems in the Global South at the cutting edge of data-intensive open science, through the development of efficiencies of scale, the creation of critical mass through shared capacities, and amplify impact through a commonality of purpose and voice at regional levels.

Regional collaboration that develops ‘platforms’ or ‘commons’ could be a creative response to poorly funded science systems. These platforms could provide and manage access to data, computational hardware, connectivity and the tools and concepts required for effective practice, in training and capacity development, and in data-intensive application activities directed towards productive scientific, societal and economic outputs and outcomes that are regionally relevant.

The second project, Towards a UNESCO Open Science Recommendation, will see the ISC work collaboratively with multiple stakeholders to develop an international standard-setting instrument on Open Science.

Anticipated impacts

  • Positioning scientists and science systems in the Global South at the cutting edge of data-intensive open science, through the development of efficiencies of scale, the creation of critical mass through shared capacities, and amplifying impact through a commonality of purpose and voice at regional levels.
  • To allow scientific information, data and outputs to be more widely accessible (Open Access) and more reliably harnessed (Open Data) with the active engagement of all the stakeholders (Open to Society).

Open Science in the Global South

Summary

In collaboration with CODATA, the Council has been working with its Regional Offices and other partner organizations to create regional Open Science Platforms that will convene and coordinate regional interests, ideas, people, institutions and resources needed to advance data-intensive, solutions-oriented research in the Global South. They are intended to create critical mass through shared capacity, and to amplify impact through their shared purpose and voice. The Platforms will function as federated systems, providing connective tissue between dispersed infrastructures and actors, bringing them together in advancing datadriven science in the Global South for social and economic benefit.

A pilot study for a Pan-African Open Science Platform (AOSP) was launched in December 2016 with the support of the South African Department of Science and Innovation and in collaboration with the Academy of Science of South Africa and the South African National Research Foundation.

Inspired by the African example, there are now parallel initiatives in the process of development in Asia and the Pacific and in Latin America and the Caribbean. The potential for a successful South-South network of regional platforms, closely connected to analogous developments in the Global North, augurs well for healthy global collaboration as equals rather than as in the donor-recipient model of the recent past. The ISC will seek support for such a network. A Global Open Science Commons may be a practicable and desirable longer-term outcome.

Key milestones

In April 2020, the National Research Foundation (NRF) of South Africa agreed to host the African Open Science Platform (AOSP) Project Office for the next 3 to 5 years. South Africa’s Department of Science and Innovation (DSI), key institutions in Africa, and the International Science Council (ISC), the AOSP (Science for the Future, the Future of Science) makes the case for bold action to mobilise the scientific community in Africa in responding to the challenges of the digital revolution. The new paradigm of Open Science is a powerful driver for scientific research and scholarship and its application to social, economic and global environmental priorities.

Next Steps

A director for the AOSP will be recruited in the second half of 2020 to take the project forward. Under their leadership, and in collaboration with numerous key institutional and national initiatives, including Governments, Science Granting Councils, research infrastructure platforms, universities, and public and private research institutions, workstreams of the formalized platform will include:

  • the development of a legislatively compliant governance framework;
  • the co-creation of a sustainable long-term funding model; and
  • the formalization of the AOSP Operating Model.

Towards a UNESCO open science recommendation

Summary

At the 40th session of UNESCO’s General Conference, 193 Members States tasked UNESCO with the development of an international standard-setting instrument on Open Science in the form of a UNESCO Recommendation on Open Science to be adopted by Member States in 2021.

The Recommendation is expected to define shared values and principles for Open Science, and identify concrete measures on Open Access and Open Data, with proposals to bring citizens closer to science. It commitments facilitating the production and dissemination of scientific knowledge around the world. The Recommendation will be developed through a regionally balanced, multistakeholder, inclusive and transparent consultation process.

Key milestones

  • In early 2020, the ISC supported UNESCO in amplifying the global call, encouraging ISC members to participate in the survey.

Next steps

Share: