ISC Fellows

The ISC Fellowship recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to the promotion of science as a global public good. The Fellowship is the highest honour that can be conferred on an individual by the International Science Council.

ISC Fellows

On 9 June 2022, the ISC announced the creation of a Fellowship and appointment of 66 Foundation Fellows (details below) who are recognized for their outstanding contributions to promoting science as a global public good. In December 2022, a further 57 Fellowships were awarded (listed below) – together with three Honorary Fellows for the inaugural and outgoing ISC Patrons – and further 100 Fellows (listed below) were appointed in December 2023.

The Fellows include eminent scientists, engineers and thought-leaders from the science-policy sphere who have made remarkable contributions to furthering understanding of and engagement with science. As scientific experts and as knowledge brokers, they uphold the ISC’s vision of science as a global public good, of knowledge that is shared openly and freely to all who wish to scrutinize it and to use it to further understanding.

We want to clearly recognize those scientists who have and continue to contribute to the global voice for science. In that way we expand our footprint and our voice. Science needs champions, not just those who receive high profile scientific prizes but champions who can give voice to the global voice for science.

Peter Gluckman, President of the International Science Council.

In 2022, an annual process of requesting nominations from ISC Members and partners was put in place, with the aim of increasing the ISC Fellowship to around 600 active Fellows. Through their scientific leadership and work to promote science in the public domain, the ISC Fellows will support the ISC’s mission to act as the global voice for science. The next call for nominations will open in 2024.

Foundation Council

The Fellows are led by the Foundation Council, which comprises 13 members including 2 ex officio members, who will provide leadership for the development of the Fellowship.

Terrence Forrester

Chair of the Council

Motoko Kotani

Deputy Chair of the Council

Peter Gluckman

ISC President, ex officio

Honorary Fellows

Fellows appointed in December 2023


Gabriela Ivan

Membership Development Officer

Skip to content