Analysis of the 5th United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA 5.1) – Webinar for UN Major Groups and other stakeholders

15 June 2021
08:30 – 11:30 EDT (New York)

Join us on Tuesday, 15 June 2021 for an analysis of the 5th United Nations Environment Assembly, UNEA 5.1, presented by Jan-Gustav Strandenaes, Senior Advisor on Governance and Sustainable Development, Stakeholder Forum.

This 3-hour webinar is organized by Stakeholder Forum for a Sustainable Future on assignment from the Civil Society Unit of the United Nations Environment Programme.


Times

  • 08:30-11:30 EDT (New York)
  • 13:30 BST (London)
  • 14:30 CEST (Brussels & Oslo)
  • 15:30 EAT (Nairobi)
  • 18:00 IST (New Deli)
  • 20:30 CST (Beijing)

UNEA 5.1 took place in February 2021, an abbreviated virtual meeting due to the global COVID-19 pandemic. This 3-hour webinar will summarize and analyze what happened at UNEA 5.1, what was agreed, and what will be discussed and decided as a way forward at the second and final session, UNEA 5.2, on February 28, March 1, & March 2, 2022.

On behalf of Stakeholder Forum for a Sustainable Future, and in cooperation with the United Nations Environment Programme, Jan-Gustav Strandenaes will explore how the two UNEA meetings are connected, and in doing so consider UNEA in the context of the nearly 50 years that have passed since the founding of UNEP in 1972.
In addition, the session will discuss the two commemorative events due to take place next year, UNEP@50 and Stockholm+50.

Stakeholder Forum will also announce its Autumn 2021 series of in-depth capacity-building webinars for each of the six UNEP Regions, aimed at preparing Major Groups and other Stakeholders to effectively engage with and participate in UNEA 5.2.  We look forward to your participation.


Photo by Greg & Lois Nunes on Unsplash

Share: