Precision Medicine: An Innovative Approach to Treating Cancer

ADVANCING DRUG DISCOVERY WEBINAR SERIES | 1 February 2024 | 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM ET | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM CET | Online
Precision Medicine: An Innovative Approach to Treating Cancer

As part of Advancing Drug Discovery: A Webinar Series of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, a session on Precision Medicine: An Innovative Approach to Treating Cancer will be held on Thursday, February 1st, 2024 at 12:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM CET.

The 60-minute session will consist a presentation from Dr. Gordon Mills, Director, Precision Oncology at the Knight Cancer Institute. Precision medicine, also known as personalized medicine, is an innovative approach to tailoring disease prevention and treatment that takes into account differences in a patient’s genes, environments, and lifestyles.  This approach has led to powerful new discoveries and FDA-approved treatments. 

This webinar will introduce precision medicine and discuss the results of the SMMART Clinical Trial.  This trial tracks a patient’s cancer over time through biopsies and tests and uses that information to adjust drug combinations to stay one step ahead of the cancer.  The impact of personalized medicine on the FDA approval process will also be discussed.

This webinar series is sponsored by Thermo-Fisher, Abbvie, Schrödinger, and Oakridge National Laboratory.


Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Skip to content