Sign up

Uruguay, Commission National Council of Innovation Science and Technology (CONICYT)

The Comisión Consejo Nacional de Innovacion Ciencia y Tecnologia has been a member since 1931.

The National Office of Science, Technology, and Innovation (DINACYT) of the Secretary of Education and Culture was created by Law nº 17.296 of 21 February 2001. The former objectives and competitions of the National Council for Scientific and Technological Research (Comisión Consejo Nacional de Innovacion Ciencia y Tecnologia – CONICYT) were transferred to the present DINACYT structure.
DINACYT is responsible for the coordination, management, execution and evaluation of the policies instruments in relation to science, technology and innovation, contributing to the consolidation of the Innovation National System, as well as to promote the scientific and technological development of the country, in both national and international scope, promoting the strategic value that this sector represents and for the execution of the Clemente Estable Fund, the Technological and Development Program (PDT), with the financial help of the InterAmerican Development Bank (IADB) and to give support to the National Fund for Investigators.
DINACYT’s structure is divided into 6 departments: International Co-operation; Science, Technology and Innovation Information; Science and Technology Promotion; General Administration; Projects Management and Policies and Programming Assessment.

Skip to content