玛格丽特泉

蒙特利湾水族馆首席保护和科学官兼 ISC 塑料污染专家组主席
美国国家科学院美国对全球海洋塑料垃圾贡献委员会主席

Margaret Spring 于 2013 年加入蒙特雷湾水族馆的保护和科学官员,负责监督其许多保护和科学计划,包括所有海洋科学政策工作、Seafood Watch 可持续海鲜计划和保护研究计划。

玛格丽特为该职位带来了丰富的经验。 从 2009 年到 2013 年,她在国家海洋和大气管理局担任领导职务,先是担任参谋长,然后担任负责海洋和大气事务的首席副部长。

在奥巴马政府任职之前,玛格丽特领导大自然保护协会的加州沿海和海洋项目。 从 1999 年到 2007 年,她在国会山担任参议院商业、科学和交通委员会的高级顾问,然后担任总顾问,在那里她就海洋和气候问题向国会议员提供建议,并帮助制定关于重大科学和政策的立法主题。

玛格丽特是加州海洋科学基金会的董事会成员,这是一个非营利组织,其任务是提供严谨的科学来指导有关加州海岸和海洋未来的决策。 她还是蒙特利湾渔业信托基金的创始董事会成员,以及美国国家科学院、工程院和医学院美国对全球海洋塑料垃圾贡献委员会的主席。 玛格丽特曾于 2014 年 2020 月至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月在国家研究委员会的海洋研究委员会任职。

从 1992 年到 1999 年,Margaret 是华盛顿特区 Sidley & Austin 的一名环境律师。她毕业于杜克大学法学院和达特茅斯学院。

https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/newsroom/staff-bios/margaret-spring

 图片来源:©Monterey Bay Aquarium,Tyson V. Rininger 摄

跳到内容

Margaret Spring

Chief Conservation and Science Officer at the Monterey Bay Aquarium and co-chair of the ISC expert group on plastic pollution

Margaret Spring

Margaret Spring joined the Conservation and Science Officer at the Monterey Bay Aquarium in 2013 to oversee its many conservation and science initiatives, including all ocean science policy work, the Seafood Watch sustainable seafood initiative and conservation research programs.

Margaret brings a wealth of experience to the position. From 2009 to 2013, she held leadership roles at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, first as chief of staff and then as principal deputy undersecretary for oceans and atmosphere.

Prior to her tenure in the Obama Administration, Margaret led The Nature Conservancy’s California coastal and marine program. From 1999 to 2007, she served on Capitol Hill as senior counsel, then general counsel, to the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, where she advised members of Congress on ocean and climate issues and helped develop legislation on major science and policy topics.

Margaret serves on the board of the California Ocean Science Trust, a nonprofit organization tasked with providing rigorous science to guide decisions about the future of California’s coast and ocean. She is also a founding board member of the Monterey Bay Fisheries Trust, and chair of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine’s Committee on United States Contributions to Global Ocean Plastic Waste. Margaret previously served on the Ocean Studies Board of the National Research Council from March 2014 to March 2020.

From 1992 to 1999, Margaret was an environmental attorney at Sidley & Austin in Washington, D.C. She is a graduate of Duke University Law School and Dartmouth College.

https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/newsroom/staff-bios/margaret-spring

 Credit: ©Monterey Bay Aquarium, photo by Tyson V. Rininger

Skip to content