حساب جديد

مارغريت سبرينغ

كبير مسؤولي الحفظ والعلوم

حوض خليج مونتيري

المشاركة في مركز الدراسات الدولي

  • رئيس فريق خبراء مركز الدراسات الدولي المعني بالتلوث البلاستيكي

خلفيّة

انضمت مارغريت سبرينغ إلى مسؤول الحفظ والعلوم في Monterey Bay Aquarium في عام 2013 للإشراف على العديد من مبادرات الحفظ والعلوم ، بما في ذلك جميع أعمال سياسات علوم المحيطات ومبادرة المأكولات البحرية المستدامة ومراقبة المأكولات البحرية وبرامج أبحاث الحفظ.

تجلب مارجريت ثروة من الخبرة إلى هذا المنصب. من عام 2009 إلى عام 2013 ، شغلت مناصب قيادية في الإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي ، أولاً كرئيسة للموظفين ثم كنائب رئيسي لوكيل الوزارة للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي.

قبل توليها منصبها في إدارة أوباما ، قادت مارجريت برنامج كاليفورنيا الساحلي والبحري التابع لمنظمة الحفاظ على الطبيعة. من عام 1999 إلى عام 2007 ، عملت في الكابيتول هيل كمستشارة أولى ، ثم مستشارة عامة ، في لجنة مجلس الشيوخ للتجارة والعلوم والنقل ، حيث قدمت المشورة لأعضاء الكونغرس بشأن قضايا المحيطات والمناخ وساعدت في تطوير التشريعات المتعلقة بالعلوم والسياسات الرئيسية المواضيع.

تعمل مارغريت في مجلس إدارة California Ocean Science Trust ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية مكلفة بتوفير علوم صارمة لتوجيه القرارات المتعلقة بمستقبل ساحل كاليفورنيا والمحيطات. وهي أيضًا عضو مؤسس في مجلس إدارة Monterey Bay Fisheries Trust ، ورئيس الأكاديميات الوطنية للعلوم والهندسة والطب في لجنة مساهمات الولايات المتحدة في النفايات البلاستيكية للمحيطات العالمية. عملت مارغريت سابقًا في مجلس دراسات المحيطات التابع للمجلس القومي للبحوث من مارس 2014 إلى مارس 2020.

من عام 1992 إلى 1999 ، كانت مارجريت محامية بيئية في Sidley & Austin في واشنطن العاصمة. تخرجت من كلية الحقوق بجامعة ديوك وكلية دارتموث.

https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/newsroom/staff-bios/margaret-spring

 الائتمان: © Monterey Bay Aquarium ، الصورة بواسطة Tyson V.Rininger


تم تحديث هذه الصفحة في يوليو 2024.

انتقل إلى المحتوى

Margaret Spring

Chief Conservation and Science Officer at the Monterey Bay Aquarium and co-chair of the ISC expert group on plastic pollution

Margaret Spring

Margaret Spring joined the Conservation and Science Officer at the Monterey Bay Aquarium in 2013 to oversee its many conservation and science initiatives, including all ocean science policy work, the Seafood Watch sustainable seafood initiative and conservation research programs.

Margaret brings a wealth of experience to the position. From 2009 to 2013, she held leadership roles at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, first as chief of staff and then as principal deputy undersecretary for oceans and atmosphere.

Prior to her tenure in the Obama Administration, Margaret led The Nature Conservancy’s California coastal and marine program. From 1999 to 2007, she served on Capitol Hill as senior counsel, then general counsel, to the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, where she advised members of Congress on ocean and climate issues and helped develop legislation on major science and policy topics.

Margaret serves on the board of the California Ocean Science Trust, a nonprofit organization tasked with providing rigorous science to guide decisions about the future of California’s coast and ocean. She is also a founding board member of the Monterey Bay Fisheries Trust, and chair of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine’s Committee on United States Contributions to Global Ocean Plastic Waste. Margaret previously served on the Ocean Studies Board of the National Research Council from March 2014 to March 2020.

From 1992 to 1999, Margaret was an environmental attorney at Sidley & Austin in Washington, D.C. She is a graduate of Duke University Law School and Dartmouth College.

https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/newsroom/staff-bios/margaret-spring

 Credit: ©Monterey Bay Aquarium, photo by Tyson V. Rininger

Skip to content