Helena Nader

Ordinary Member of the Governing Board 2021 – 2024

Nationality: Brazilian
Country of residence: Brazil
Discipline: Biomedical sciences
Born in: 1947

Academic background

Professor Helena B. Nader attended the Paulista Medical School, Federal University of São  Paulo (UNIFESP), where she earned a Bachelor of Sciences degree (Biomedical Sciences) in 1970. She also obtained a Licentiate degree (Biological Sciences) from the University of São  Paulo in 1971. She then obtained a PhD in Molecular Biology at UNIFESP in 1974, and a post-doctoral training as a Fogarty (NIH) fellow at the University of Southern California (1975-1977). At Unifesp, she is professor (since 1974) and director of the Institute of Pharmacology and Molecular Biology (1991 to present). Since 1985, she is a 1A (highest level) research fellow of the National Research Council for the Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq). Her research field is molecular and cell biology of glycoconjugates. She has over 200 published papers (Google Scholar h-index = 60, i10-index = 263, more than 12,350 citations) and has advised more than 100 master of science and PhD students, and more than 20 post-doctors that hold research and teaching positions in Brazil and abroad.

Past and current positions

At UNIFESP, Helena Nader is Head of the Molecular Biology Graduate Program (since 2005), and Head of the Institute of Pharmacology and Molecular Biology (since 1991). Since 1999, she coordinates the Scientific Initiation Program (PIBIC). She was the first woman to become Pro-Rector of Undergraduate Programs (1999-2003), as well as Pro-Rector of Research and Graduate Programs (2007-2008). Visiting Professor at: Loyola Medical School, USA (1991 to present); Istituto Scientifico G. Ronzonni, Italy (1985 to present); W. Alton Jones Cell Science Center, USA (1986-1987); and Opocrin Laboratorio Farmacobiologico, Italy (1978-1983). She is member of TWAS (The World Academy of Sciences), ACAL (Latin America Academy of Sciences), and the State of São Paulo Academy of Sciences. She is also the co-chair of the InterAmerican Network of Academies of Sciences (IANAS). She is Honorary President, former President (2011-2017) and Vice-President (2007-2011) of the Brazilian Society for the Advancement of Sciences (SBPC); and former president of the Brazilian Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (SBBq, 2007-2008). She is a member of the National Council of Science and Technology (since 2011) and of the Superior Council of the Coordination for the Improvement of Higher Education Personnel CAPES (since 2016).