报告进展, 策略、规划和审查

世界气候研究计划 (WCRP) 回顾

本报告为世界气候研究计划(WCRP)的未来发展提供战略方向,回顾其自 2009 年以来的科学成就和影响,并评估 WCRP 治理、运营结构、管理和资源配置的适当性和有效性。

介绍

世界气候研究计划 (WCRP) 成立于 1980 年,旨在促进对地球系统变率和变化的分析和预测,以便在越来越多的与社会直接相关、利益和价值的实际应用中使用。

从那时起,WCRP 通过发起和协调主要的合作活动在国际气候科学中发挥了关键作用,如果没有 WCRP 促进的那种国际合作,这些活动是无法实现的。

这项审查是由 WCRP 的三个赞助商——世界气象组织 (WMO)、国际科学理事会 (ICSU) 和教科文组织政府间海洋学委员会 (IOC) 于 2017 年发起的。 审查旨在评估 WCRP 在履行其职责方面的有效性、它与其他组织合作的情况,并就该计划的未来结构、治理和资源提供建议。

本报告由 ICSU-WMO-IOC 审查小组编写,包括 Julia Slingo(主席)、Sergey Gulev、Fumiko Kasuga、Mark New、Neville Smith、Alan Thorpe 和 Steven Zebiak。

该报告着眼于 WCRP 在当前背景下的结构和治理,考虑其运作的有效性和与主要合作伙伴的关系,以及它对主要国际政策进程的贡献。 最后,报告展望了 WCRP 的未来,并为 WCRP 在 21 世纪挑战背景下履行其使命提出了一些建议。

您将在下方找到完整报告和执行摘要的下载链接。



跳到内容

Review of the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP)

This report provides strategic directions for the future development of the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP), reviews its scientific achievements and impact since 2009, and assesses the appropriateness and effectiveness of the governance, operational structure, management and resourcing of WCRP.

Photo by Stacie Lucas on Unsplash.

Introduction

The World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) was established in 1980 to facilitate the analysis and prediction of Earth system variability and change for use in an increasing range of practical applications of direct relevance, benefit and value to society.

Since then the WCRP has played a pivotal role in international climate science by initiating and coordinating major collaborative activities which could not have been delivered without the kind of international cooperation that WCRP facilitates.

This review was instigated in 2017 by WCRP’s three sponsors – the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), the International Council for Science (ICSU), and the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO. The review aimed to assess the effectiveness of WCRP in delivering its mandate, how well it works in partnership with other organizations, and to advise on the future structure, governance and resourcing of the programme.

This report was prepared by the ICSU-WMO-IOC Review Panel, comprising Julia Slingo (Chair), Sergey Gulev, Fumiko Kasuga, Mark New, Neville Smith, Alan Thorpe and Steven Zebiak.

The report looks at WCRP’s structure and governance in the current context, considering the effectiveness of its operations and relationship with key partners, as well as its contributions to major international policy processes. Finally, the report looks ahead to the future of WCRP and makes a number of recommendations for WCRP to fulfil its mission in the context of 21st century challenges.

You will find download links for the full Report and Executive Summary below.

Download Executive Summary:
Share this: