世界数据系统 (WDS)

WDS 的使命是促进对自然和社会科学以及人文学科所有学科的有质量保证的科学数据和数据服务、产品和信息的长期管理以及普遍和公平的访问。

数据

WDS 建立在 60 年由国际科学理事会 (ICSU) 建立的 WDC 和 FAGS 的 1957 年遗产基础上,我们的 前身组织, 管理国际地球物理年 (1957–1958) 生成的数据。 在国际极地年(2007-2008)之后,很明显这些机构无法完全满足现代数据需求,因此在 29 年第 2008 届 ICSU 大会上将它们解散,并于 2009 年被世界数据系统取代。

其目的是通过协调和支持可信赖的科学数据服务来促进科学研究,以提供、使用和保存相关数据集,同时加强它们与研究界的联系。 它建立在数据管理组件之间高级互连所提供的潜力之上,以促进学科和多学科应用,以造福国际科学界和其他利益相关者。

WDS 正在通过认证科学数据服务——WDS 成员——使用国际公认的标准来发展全球“卓越社区” 核心信任印章. 截至 20 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日, WDS 拥有 117 个成员组织,包括 76 名正式成员、11 名网络成员、11 名合作伙伴成员和 19 名准成员,而 WDS 科学委员会继续审查其他一些申请。 WDS 与多个战略合作伙伴合作,例如 研究数据联盟(RDA)数据委员会 (CODATA).


⭐ ISC 和 WDS

与橡树岭研究所和加拿大维多利亚大学一样,国际科学理事会是 WDS 的共同发起人。 WDS 科学委员会有三名当然成员,每个共同发起人一名,ISC 秘书处的代表通常担任 ISC 职位。 CEO 是 ISC 的当然代表。 WDS 由其科学委员会 (WDS-SC) 管理,该委员会由 ISC 执行委员会任命。 WDS-SC 负责制定 WDS 计划并确定其优先级,并指导其实施

ISC 为制定和批准战略和活动计划以及相关预算做出贡献。 ISC 还建立和任命国际指导/咨询委员会,ISC 成员有可能在此过程中提交提名。 ISC 还负责审查 WDS、定义审查职权范围、任命审查小组成员、资助 ISC 代表。


图片由 马库斯斯皮斯克 on Unsplash

分享:

跳到内容

World Data System (WDS)

The mission of WDS is to promote long-term stewardship of, and universal and equitable access to, quality-assured scientific data and data services, products, and information across all disciplines in the Natural and Social Sciences, and the Humanities.

Data

WDS builds on the 60 year legacy of the WDC and FAGS established in 1957 by the International Council for Science (ICSU), our predecessor organization, to manage data generated by the International Geophysical Year (1957–1958). It became clear after the International Polar Year (2007–2008) that these bodies were not able to respond fully to modern data needs, and they were thus disbanded by the 29th ICSU General Assembly in 2008 and replaced by the World Data System in 2009.

Its aim is to facilitate scientific research by coordinating and supporting trusted scientific data services for the provision, use, and preservation of relevant datasets, while strengthening their links with the research community. It builds on the potential offered by advanced interconnections between data management components to foster disciplinary and multidisciplinary applications for the benefit of the international scientific community and other stakeholders.

WDS is developing worldwide ‘communities of excellence’ by certifying scientific data services – WDS Members – using internationally recognized standards through the CoreTrustSeal. As of 20 June 2019, WDS has 117 Member Organizations, including 76 Regular Members, 11 Network Members, 11 Partner Members and 19 Associate Members, while a number of other applications continue to be reviewed by the WDS Scientific Committee. WDS collaborates with several strategic partners, such as the Research Data Alliance (RDA) and the Committee on Data (CODATA).


⭐ The ISC and WDS

Along with the Oak Ridge Institute and the University of Victoria, Canada, the International Science Council is a co-sponsor of WDS. There are three ex-officio members within the WDS Scientific Committee, one for each of the co-sponsors, and a representative of the ISC Secretariat typically taking up the ISC position. The CEO is the official ISC representative ex-officio. WDS is governed by its Scientific Committee (the WDS-SC), which is appointed by the ISC’s Executive Board. The WDS-SC is responsible for developing and prioritizing plans for WDS and guiding their implementation

The ISC contributes to the development and approves strategy and activity plans, as well as associated budgets. The ISC also establishes and appoints international steering/advisory committees, with the possibility for ISC members to submit nominations as part of the process. The ISC is also in charge of reviewing WDS, defining review terms of reference, appointing review panel members, funding ISC representatives.


Image by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Share: