Czech Republic, Czech Academy of Sciences

The Czech Academy of Sciences has been a member since 1922.

The Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic is one of the successor organizations to the Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences, which represented Czechoslovakia in ISC as of 1952. Prior to that, Czechoslovakia was represented by the Czechoslovak National Research Council. The Academy of Sciences functions as an association of 54 research institutes in the fields of natural and technical sciences, social sciences and humanities. It is responsible for the functioning of 36 National Committees, and represents the Czech Republic in ISC, its Committees and Scientific Unions. National Committees are composed of representatives of universities and research institutions in the Czech Republic. It changed its name in January 2015 to the Czech Academy of Sciences.


Skip to content