Sign up

Iran, Islamic Rep. Of, University of Tehran

The University of Tehran has been a member since 1963.

In 1849, the Iranian Government established the Dar al Funoon or polytechnic where modern sciences such as medicine and technology were taught by foreign teachers, mainly Austrian and French. In 1934, the Majlis (Parliament) established the University of Tehran. At present the University of Tehran embodies 16 Faculties, 2 Higher Education Complexes and 20 Research Institutes. This University has 32,000 students and 1,500 academic staff. The number of fields of study at the University of Tehran in Bachelor Degree is 116, Master Degree 136 and PhD degree 87. The language of instruction at this Univesity is Farsi (Persian).

Skip to content