Malaysia, Academy of Sciences Malaysia

The Academy of Sciences Malaysia has been a member since 1977.

The Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM) was established under the Academy of Science Act 1994. The objectives of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia are primarily the pursuit, encouragement, maintenance and enhancement of excellence in the fields of science, engineering and technology for the development of the nation, as well as for the benefit of mankind.

Presently the Academy has a membership of 1 Honorary Fellow, 9 Senior Fellows and 119 Fellows. Membership of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia is drawn from Malaysian scientists, engineers and technologists at the highest level. Membership is divided into 7 disciplines, namely medical sciences, engineering sciences, biological sciences, mathematical and physical sciences, chemical sciences, information technology and science & technology development and industry.

It has been actively involved in many international and regional activities. It is on the 15-member Board of the Inter-Academy Council and is an active member of the IAP. It is the secretariat of the ASEAN Council of Academies of Sciences and Engineering (ASEAN-CASE). The ASM has established a network with 30 organizations in 28 countries in the world. It also networks with all Universities, R&D Institutes and Professional Science, Engineering and Technology Associations (PSETAs) in Malaysia. In the ISC, ASM supports particularly the initiatives on capacity building in science.

The Academy of Sciences Malaysia is celebrating 25 years in 2020. Read more about the celebrations.


Skip to content