Inscription

Dr Alan Bernstein

Boursier ISC (décembre 2022)

Implication à l'ISC

  • Membre du Comité permanent de la planification scientifique (2022-2025)

Contexte

Le Dr Bernstein est le président sortant du CIFAR (2012-2022), un organisme de recherche mondial basé au Canada qui réunit des chercheurs de plus de 20 pays pour aborder des questions importantes pour la science et l'humanité.

Il a été président fondateur (2000-2007) des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, l'agence fédérale canadienne pour le financement de la recherche en santé, et directeur exécutif de Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise (2008-2011).

Il est Distinguished Fellow de la Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy de l'Université de Toronto et Senior Fellow du Massey College. Auteur de plus de 240 publications évaluées par des pairs traitant des gènes impliqués dans le cancer et la fonction des cellules souches, et de plus de 70 articles d'opinion dans les médias non professionnels traitant de la politique scientifique, il est largement sollicité en tant que conseiller auprès du gouvernement, des agences de financement et des organisations caritatives. .

Il a reçu de nombreuses distinctions et récompenses pour ses contributions à la science et à la politique scientifique.


Cette page a été mise à jour en mai 2024.

Passer au contenu

Alan Bernstein

President and Professor Emeritus at the University of Toronto, Immediate past president of CIFAR (2012-2022), Canada

ISC Fellow, Member of the Standing Committee for Science Planning 2022-2025

Dr. Bernstein is the immediate past president of CIFAR (2012-2022), a Canadian-based global research organization which convenes researchers from over 20 countries to address questions of importance to science and humanity.

He was the founding president (2000-2007) of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Canada’s federal agency for the funding of health research, and Executive Director of the Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise (2008-2011).

He is a Distinguished Fellow of the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, University of Toronto and a Senior Fellow of Massey College. Author of over 240 peer-reviewed publications dealing with the genes involved in cancer and stem cell function, and over 70 opinion pieces in the lay media dealing with science policy, he is widely sought after as an advisor to government, funding agencies and charitable organizations.

He has been recognized with many honours and awards for his contributions to science and science policy.


Follow Alan Bernstein on Twitter @AbernsteinCIFAR

Share:

Skip to content