比娜阿加瓦尔

英国曼彻斯特大学发展经济学与环境学教授

ISC 研究员


Bina Agarwal 是英国曼彻斯特大学 GDI 的发展经济学和环境教授。 她曾任印度德里经济增长研究所所长兼教授; 国际生态经济学会主席; 国际女权经济学协会主席; 国际经济学会副会长。 她曾在剑桥、哈佛、普林斯顿、明尼苏达和密歇根大学担任重要职务。

阿加瓦尔的 16 本书和超过 86 篇论文涵盖了不同的主题:财产和土地权利、土地变化、环境治理、法律以及贫困和不平等,尤其是从政治经济学和性别角度撰写的。 她的多项获奖著作 A Field of One's Own(剑桥大学出版社,1994 年)将妇女的土地权置于全球政策议程中。 2005 年,她还领导了一项成功的公民社会运动,旨在使印度的印度教继承法实现性别平等。 她最近的著作包括《性别与绿色治理》(牛津大学出版社,2010 年); 性别挑战(牛津大学出版社,2016 年),她所选论文的三卷本纲要; 和发展中经济体中的性别不平等 (2021) 意大利语翻译。

她的许多奖项包括 2008 年印度总统颁发的莲花士勋章; 2010 年列昂缇夫奖“推进经济思想的前沿”; 2017 年 Louis Malassis 国际科学家奖; 和 2017 年国际巴尔赞奖。

分享:

跳到内容

Bina Argawal

Professor of Development Economics and Environment at the University of Manchester, United Kingdom

ISC Fellow


Bina Agarwal is Professor of Development Economics and Environment at the GDI, University of Manchester, UK. She has been Director and Professor, Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi, India; President, International Society for Ecological Economics; President, International Association for Feminist Economics; and Vice President, International Economic Association. She has held distinguished positions at Cambridge, Harvard, Princeton, Minnesota and Michigan.

Agarwal’s 16 books and over 86 papers cover varied subjects: property and land rights, agrarian change, environmental governance, law, and poverty and inequality, written especially from a political economy and gender perspective. Her multiple prize-winning book, A Field of One’s Own (Cambridge University Press, 1994), placed women’s land rights on the global policy agenda. In 2005 she also led a successful civil society campaign for making India’s Hindu Inheritance law gender equal. Her recent books include Gender and Green Governance (OUP, 2010); Gender Challenges (OUP, 2016), a three volume compendium of her selected papers; and Gender Inequalities in Developing Economies (2021) in Italian translation.

Her many awards include a Padma Shri from the President of India in 2008; the Leontief Prize 2010 ‘for advancing the frontiers of economic thought’; the Louis Malassis International Scientist Prize 2017; and the International Balzan Prize 2017.

Share:

Skip to content