حساب جديد

قاسية جوبتا

زميل مركز الدراسات الدولي (ديسمبر 2022)

هارش ك. جوبتا عضو في مجلس تنظيم الطاقة الذرية (الهند) ورئيس الجمعية الجيولوجية في الهند. المناصب السابقة التي شغلها تشمل عضو الهيئة الوطنية لإدارة الكوارث (الهند) ؛ سكرتير حكومة الهند ، إدارة تنمية المحيطات ؛ مدير المعهد الوطني للبحوث الجيوفيزيائية ، حيدر أباد ؛ نائب رئيس جامعة كوشين للعلوم والتكنولوجيا وأستاذ بجامعة تكساس في دالاس بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

إن عمله في الزلازل التي تسببها خزانات المياه الاصطناعية ووضع معايير لتمييزها عن الزلازل العادية معترف به عالميًا. ترأس اللجنة التوجيهية لبرنامج المخاطر الزلزالية العالمية. بعد كارثة زلزال سومطرة عام 2004 ، أنشأ نظام الإنذار المبكر من تسونامي الهندي.

تشمل منشوراته أكثر من 200 مقال ؛ 5 كتب ورئيس تحرير موسوعة جيوفيزياء الأرض الصلبة بواسطة Springer (2011 والطبعة الثانية 2021). تشمل الجوائز والشهادات جائزة Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar ؛ ميدالية والدو إي. سميث من AGU ؛ ميدالية أكسفورد الذهبية لجمعية علوم الأرض في آسيا أوقيانوسيا (AOGS) وجائزة التميز المعدنية الوطنية. لقد كان رئيسًا لـ IUGG و AOGS وهو مؤسس رئيس اللجنة الآسيوية لرصد الزلازل وعضو أجنبي في أكاديمية العلوم الروسية.


تم تحديث الصفحة في مايو 2024.

انتقل إلى المحتوى

Harsh Gupta

NASI Platinum Jubilee Fellow, CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute, India

ISC Fellow


Harsh K. Gupta is a Member of the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (India) and President of the Geological Society of India. The previous positions held by him include Member, National Disaster Management Authority (India); Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Ocean Development; Director, National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad; Vice Chancellor, Cochin University of Science and Technology and a Professor at the University of Texas at Dallas, USA.

His work on artificial water reservoir-triggered earthquakes and developing criteria to distinguish them from normal earthquakes is globally recognized. He chaired the Steering Committee of the Global Seismic Hazard Program. After the disastrous 2004 Sumatra earthquake, he established the Indian Tsunami Early Warning system.

His publications include over 200 articles; 5 books; and the Editor in Chief of the Encyclopedia of Solid Earth Geophysics by Springer (2011 and second edition 2021). Awards and recognitions include the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize; Waldo E. Smith Medal of AGU; the Axford Gold Medal of the Asia Oceania Geosciences Society (AOGS) and the National Mineral Award of Excellence. He has been President of the IUGG, the AOGS and is the Founder President of the Asian Seismological Commission, and Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Share:

Skip to content