Prof. Huadong Guo

ISC Fellow (Dec 2022)

Involvement at the ISC


Guo Huadong is Director-General of the International Research Center of Big Data for Sustainable Development Goals (CBAS), and a professor of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) Aerospace Information Research Institute. He is an Academician of CAS, a Fellow of TWAS, a Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, and a Foreign Member of the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters.

He presently serves as Honorary President of International Society for Digital Earth (ISDE), Director of International Center on Space Technologies for Natural and Cultural Heritage (HIST) under the Auspices of UNESCO, Chair of Digital Belt and Road Program (DBAR), and Editor-in-Chief of two scientific journals International Journal of Digital Earth and Big Earth Data Journal.

He served as Member of UN 10-Member Group to support the Technology Facilitation Mechanism for SDGs, President of ISDE and ICSU Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA). Prof. Guo specializes in remote sensing, radar for Earth observation, and Digital Earth science. He has published more than 500 papers and 24 books, and is the awardee of 19 international and domestic prizes.

Prof. Guo is one of the most recognized scientists in China and is well known internationally. He has actively contributed to and participated in international efforts towards sustainability. With an extremely strong profile recognized already by many awards, Prof. Guo works across scales from local to global with a focus on global Big Earth Data & SDGs.

In 2021, Prof. Guo was the recipient of the ISC Science for Sustainability Award for outstanding scientific contribution to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals using an interdisciplinary approach.

The 2021 Prize

All 2021 awardees received an original piece of art by scientific photographer Karl Gaff who specializes in microscopy art. Prof. Guo received ‘Yellow Lichen’.

Read more about Karl Gaff

> Learn more about the ISC Awards

The page has been updated in May 2024.

Skip to content