Jean-Pierre Bourguignon

ISC Fellow

A mathematician by training, Jean-Pierre BOURGUIGNON did all his career at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (1969-2013). His field is Differential Geometry with a focus on geometric questions at the interface of Theoretical Physics. He taught at École polytechnique (1986-2012). He was the Director of the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques in Bures-sur-Yvette (1994-2013).

He has been President of the Société Mathématique de France (1990-1992), and of the European Mathematical Society (1995-1998). He held the position of President of the European Research Council (ERC) (2014-2019), then ad interim (July 2020-August 2021).

In 1987, the Académie des Sciences de Paris awarded him the Paul Langevin Prize, then in 1997 the Prix du Rayonnement français pour les sciences physiques et mathématiques.

He is a member of the Academia Europaea, of the Royal Spanish Academy of Sciences, of the Portuguese Academy of Sciences and of the Royal Academy of Sciences of Barcelona. He was awarded several Doctor Honoris Causa titles: in 2008 by Keio University (Japan), in 2011 by Nankai University (China), and in 2018 by the University of Edinburgh (Scotland). In 2005, he was elected Honorary Member of the London Mathematical Society, in 2017 of the Deutsche Mathematiker Vereinigung and in 2019 of the Polish Mathematical Society.


Skip to content