Sign up

Mark Wuddivira

Dean of the Faculty of Food and Agriculture

University of the West Indies, St. Augustine

Involvement at the ISC

  • Member of the Small Island Developing States (SIDS) Liaison Committee


Professor Mark Wuddivira is the Dean of the Faculty of Food and Agriculture at The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine (UWI), and a Professor of Agri-Environmental Soil Physics, He is an outstanding agricultural and environmental scientist and internationally sought-after expert. His research agenda on soil physical management and the sustainable use of humid tropical ecosystems has generated many publications in impactful international journals. He has delivered expert presentations across the globe and in several Caribbean territories. He has made an outstanding contribution to a most comprehensive, excellent research program in a truly interdisciplinary area that combines aspects of plant and soil, providing a strong basis for advancement in agriculture and environmental research, innovation, and diffusion both nationally and internationally. He is a recipient of the Principal’s Research Award 2023 as the Most Outstanding Faculty Researcher.

With a Ph.D. in Soil Science and a Graduate Certificate in University Teaching and Learning from UWI, Professor Wuddivira holds a BSc in Agriculture and an MSc in Soil Science from Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria. He also earned an International Graduate Certification from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel. Professor Wuddivira is the Editorial Board Chair of the Tropical Agriculture journal and an Associate Editor of the Journal of Plant Nutrition and Soil Science (Wiley). He is a steering committee member of the Caribbean WaterNet/CAPNET UNDP, a Fellow and President of the Caribbean Academy of Sciences, as well as a Director on the Boards of the Cocoa Research Centre, UWI, and the Caribbean Agricultural Research and Development Institute (CARDI). He is a member of the International Science Council’s Small Island Development States (SIDS) Liaison Committee.

This page has been updated in May 2024.

Skip to content