Jetzt anmelden

Mary Robinson

Ehrenmitglied (Dezember 2022)

Engagement am ISC

  • Gründungsschirmherr des ISC

„Wir brauchen die Wissenschaft, um das aktive Engagement der Bürgerinnen und Bürger bei der Suche nach Lösungen für die Klimakatastrophe zu stärken, insbesondere in armen und gefährdeten Gemeinden. Es gab noch nie eine wichtigere Zeit für eine Organisation mit der globalen Reichweite des International Science Council, und ich freue mich, ihr Schirmherr zu sein.“

Mary Robinson, 7. Juni 2019, anlässlich ihrer Ernennung zur Schirmherrin des ISC

Hintergrund

Mary Robinson war von 1990 bis 1997 Präsidentin von Irland und von 1997 bis 2002 UN-Hochkommissarin für Menschenrechte. Sie ist Vorsitzende von The Elders, Mitglied des Club of Madrid und Trägerin zahlreicher Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen, darunter der Presidential Medal of Freedom des Präsidenten der Vereinigten Staaten, Barack Obama. Zwischen 2013 und 2016 war Mary in drei Funktionen als Sondergesandte des UN-Generalsekretärs tätig; zuerst für die Region der Großen Seen in Afrika, dann zum Klimawandel und zuletzt als sein Sondergesandter für El Niño und Klima.

Als ehemalige Präsidentin der International Commission of Jurists und ehemalige Vorsitzende des Council of Women World Leaders war sie von 2002 bis 2010 Präsidentin und Gründerin von Realizing Rights: The Ethical Globalization Initiative und von 2002 bis 2012 Ehrenpräsidentin von Oxfam International.

Mary Robinson ist Schirmherrin des Vorstands des Institute of Human Rights and Business, Botschafterin des B-Teams und Vorstandsmitglied mehrerer Organisationen, darunter der Mo Ibrahim Foundation und der Aurora Foundation. Sie war von 1998 bis 2019 Kanzlerin der University of Dublin und ist jetzt außerordentliche Professorin für Klimagerechtigkeit. Marys Memoiren „Everybody Matters“ wurden im September 2012 veröffentlicht und ihr Buch „Climate Justice – Hope, Resilience and the Fight for a Sustainable Future“ wurde im September 2018 veröffentlicht.

Video ansehen

Diese Seite wurde im Mai 2024 aktualisiert.

Zum Inhalt

Mary Robinson

Former President of Ireland and UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Chair of The Elders

Honorary Fellow and Inaugural Patron of the ISC

“We need science to empower citizens’ active engagement in finding the solutions to the climate emergency, especially from poor and vulnerable communities. There has never been a more important time for an organisation with the global reach of the International Science Council and I am delighted to be its Patron.”

Mary Robinson, 7 June 2019, on the occasion of her appointment as ISC Patron

About Mary Robinson

Mary Robinson served as President of Ireland from 1990-1997 and UN High Commissioner for Human Rights from 1997-2002. She is Chair of The Elders, a member of the Club of Madrid and the recipient of numerous honours and awards including the Presidential Medal of Freedom from the President of the United States Barack Obama. Between 2013 and 2016 Mary served as the UN Secretary General’s Special Envoy in three roles; first for the Great Lakes region of Africa, then on Climate Change and most recently as his Special Envoy on El Niño and Climate.

A former President of the International Commission of Jurists and former chair of the Council of Women World Leaders she was President and founder of Realizing Rights: The Ethical Globalization Initiative from 2002-2010 and served as Honorary President of Oxfam International from 2002-2012.

Mary Robinson serves as Patron of the Board of the Institute of Human Rights and Business, is an Ambassador for The B Team, in addition to being a board member of several organisations including the Mo Ibrahim Foundation and the Aurora Foundation. She was Chancellor of the University of Dublin from 1998 to 2019 and is now Adjunct Professor of Climate Justice. Mary’s memoir, ‘Everybody Matters’ was published in September 2012 and her book, ‘Climate Justice – Hope, Resilience and the Fight for a Sustainable Future’ was published in September 2018.

Share:

Skip to content