Melody Burkins

Melody Burkins is a member of the ISC Governing Board and Vice-Chair of the Committee for Outreach and Engagement.

Melody Brown Burkins is the Associate Director for Programs and Research in the John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding and Adjunct Professor of Environmental Studies at Dartmouth. With over twenty-five years of experience in both academia and government, she is an advocate for policy-engaged scholarship across disciplines, international experiential education, and creating new opportunities for students at the intersection of science, policy  and diplomacy. She also believes deeply in advancing sustainability, gender equity, and supporting youth and women in leadership roles around the world.

Burkins serves as the Vice-Chair of the National Academies’ Board on International Scientific Organizations and is Past Chair of the U.S. National Committee for the Geological Sciences. She has served as a policy advisor for energy and environment in the U.S. Senate and as a U.S. delegate to multiple international science meetings. In 2016, she became the first woman to chair a U.S. geoscience delegation to an International Geological Congress and, in 2017, she was honored to serve on the ICSU-ISSC Strategy Working Group, supporting the founding of the International Science Council (ISC).

Burkins earned her B.S. in geology at Yale University and her Ph.D. at Dartmouth in earth and ecosystem sciences.