旋律伯金斯

ISC 基金会研究员(2022 年 XNUMX 月)

参与 ISC

  • ISC 理事会普通成员(2022-2024)
  • 科学自由与责任常设委员会成员(2022-2025)
  • ISC 理事会普通成员(2018-2021)

背景

伯金斯博士是北极研究所所长、约翰·斯隆·迪基国际理解中心高级副主任以及达特茅斯学院环境研究副教授。 她还担任达特茅斯大学北极科学外交和包容性主席、第四届国际北极研究规划会议 (ICARP IV) ISC 指导委员会成员、美国国家科学院国际科学组织委员会 (BISO) 前任主席,以及美国国家地质科学委员会 (USNC-GS) 前任主席。

Burkins 的职业生涯跨越学术界和政府,被公认为“科学外交官”,倡导政策性学术、科学外交教育,以及更多样化的知识系统、社区声音和青年参与北极和全球决策气候和可持续发展政策。

在 ISC 的第一个任期内,Burkins 为多项报告和倡议做出了贡献,这些报告和倡议侧重于推进更具包容性和可持续的全球科学系统。 这包括审查 2019 年联合国全球可持续发展报告,联合国减少灾害风险办公室全球评估报告 (UNDRR-GAR) 咨询委员会的服务,ISC 的科学咨询角色 2021 年科学使命 向全球资助者论坛 (GFF) 报告,对 ISC 计划的编辑贡献 打击科学中的系统性种族主义, 为 15 名成员的联合国教科文组织全球大学和 2030 年议程独立专家组 (EGU2030) 提供服务。 

她期待在 ISC 理事会的第二次访问中继续她的工作,以创建更具包容性和公平的科学系统、科学外交和科学治理。


该页面已于 2024 年 XNUMX 月更新。

跳到内容

Melody Burkins

Ordinary Member of the Governing Board 2021 – 2024 / Past Ordinary Member of the Governing Board 2018-2021

Dr. Burkins is Director of the Institute of Arctic Studies, Senior Associate Director in the John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding, and Adjunct Professor of Environmental Studies at Dartmouth. She also serves as Special Advisor and Assembly Member of the University of the Arctic (UArctic) global network, Chair of the U.S. National Academies’ Board on International Scientific Organizations (BISO), and Past Chair of the U.S. National Committee for Geological Sciences (USNC-GS).

With a career spanning academia and government, Burkins is recognized as a “science diplomat” advocating for policy-engaged scholarship, science diplomacy education, and the engagement of more diverse knowledge systems, community voices, and youth in decision-making for Arctic and global climate and sustainable development policy.

During her first term with the ISC, Burkins contributed to multiple reports and initiatives focused on the advancement of more inclusive and sustainable global science systems. This included review of the 2019 UN Global Sustainability Development Report, service on the UN Office of Disaster Risk Reduction Global Assessment Report (UNDRR-GAR) Advisory Board, a science advisory role on the ISC 2021 Missions for Science report to the Global Forum of Funders (GFF), editorial contributions to the ISC program of Combatting Systemic Racism in Science, and service on the 15-Member UNESCO Global Independent Expert Group on Universities and the 2030 Agenda (EGU2030). 

She looks forward to continuing her work towards creating more inclusive and equitable science systems, science diplomacy, and science governance in her second tour on the ISC Governing Board.

Share: