Oyewale Tomori

Virologist at the Redeemer University, Nigeria

Oyewale Tomori is the past President of the Nigerian Academy of Science with experience in virology, disease prevention, and control. He was a researcher at the University of Ibadan from 1971 to 1994. He later served as the pioneer Vice-Chancellor of the Redeemer’s University in Nigeria from 2004 to 2011. From 1994 to 2004, he was the virologist for the WHO-AFRO, establishing the African Regional Polio Laboratory Network. In 1981, he was recognized by the US-CDC for contributions to Lassa fever research.

In 2002, he received the Nigerian National Order of Merit, the country’s highest award for academic and intellectual attainment and national development. Dr. Tomori has served or continues to serve on numerous advisory committees, at national and global levels, including (national) – Lassa Fever Steering Committee, Laboratory Technical Working Group, Expert Group on Polio Eradication and Routine Immunization, Advisory Committee on Covid19 Response, and (international) – WHO SAGE, WHO-AFRO Polio Certification Committee, WHO Yellow Fever Disease Committee, WHO TAG on COVID-19 Vaccine Composition (TAG-CO-VAC), GAVI Board, U.S. NAS Global Health Risk Framework Commission, WHO-AFRO Laboratory Planning and Quality Monitoring Adviser.

He is a member of US-NAM and has authored/co-authored over 160 scientific publications.

Skip to content