Verein registrieren

Peter Strohschneider

ISC Fellow (Dezember 2022)

Peter Strohschneider studierte Germanistik, Jura, Geschichte, Soziologie und Politikwissenschaft und promovierte 1984 an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) München. Ab 1992 war er Professor für Germanistik des Mittelalters und der Frühen Neuzeit an der Technischen Universität Dresden bis 2002. Seit 2002 ist er Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Germanistische Mediävistik an der LMU München.

Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der deutschen Kultur und Literatur des Mittelalters und der Vormoderne sowie der Wissenschaftspolitik. Er war Gastprofessor an der École Pratique des Hautes Études in Paris und der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/Main, Fellow des Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) und des Wissenschaftskollegs in Berlin und ist u. a. Mitglied der Academia Europaea, die Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina und die Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Von 2006 bis 2011 war er Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftsrates (WR) und von 2013 bis 2019 Präsident der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). Seitdem ist er wieder in der eigenen Forschung, aber auch in verschiedenen institutionellen und politischen Kommissionen (ua Zukunftskommission Landwirtschaft ZKL der Bundesregierung) engagiert.


Diese Seite wurde im Mai 2024 aktualisiert.

Zum Inhalt

Peter Strohschneider

Professor Emeritus at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich, Past president of the German Research Foundation DFG, Germany

ISC Fellow


Peter Strohschneider studied German philology, law, history, sociology and political science, and received his PhD from the Ludwig-Maximilians-University (LMU) Munich in 1984. He was Professor of German Medieval and Early Modern Studies at Dresden University of Technology from 1992 until 2002. Since 2002, he has held the chair of German Medieval Studies at the LMU in Munich.

His research foci lie in the fields of German medieval and pre-modern culture and literature, as well as academic research policy. He was a visiting professor at the École Pratique des Hautes Études in Paris and the Goethe University Frankfurt/Main, fellow of the Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) and the Wissenschaftskolleg in Berlin and is a member of, i.al., the Academia Europaea, the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

2006 to 2011 he chaired the German Sciences and Humanities Council (WR, Wissenschaftsrat) and from 2013 – 2019 he was President of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation). Since then, he is back in his own research, but also involved in various institutional and political commissions (among others the federal government’s Commission on the Future of Agriculture ZKL).

Share:

Skip to content