LIRA : Faire progresser l'Agenda 2030 dans les villes africaines grâce à la coproduction de connaissances

Un rapport sur les expérimentations urbaines menées par des scientifiques africains en début de carrière dans le programme LIRA

LIRA : Faire progresser l'Agenda 2030 dans les villes africaines grâce à la coproduction de connaissances

Le rapport décrit des exemples actuels de collaboration entre la science, la politique et la société, menés à travers des recherches transdisciplinaires dans un éventail de villes africaines. Tous sont mis en œuvre dans le cadre d'un programme de recherche connu sous le nom de Mener la recherche intégrée pour l'Agenda 2030 en Afrique (LIRA 2030 Africa).

Le rapport met en lumière ce qu'il faut pour coproduire des connaissances sur le développement urbain durable en Afrique grâce à la collaboration entre les scientifiques, les acteurs politiques, les praticiens urbains, le secteur privé et les communautés, et les opportunités et les défis que ce processus engagé de production de connaissances crée. Il suggère des options pour créer des environnements favorables et pour renforcer la capacité des scientifiques africains à entreprendre ce type de recherche.

Les projets présentés dans ce rapport inspirent l'espoir aux scientifiques africains en début de carrière de franchir les frontières conventionnelles entre la science, la politique et la société, et de mener des recherches innovantes, engagées, pertinentes et qui contribuent finalement au changement social. L'investissement dans la recherche et la formation transdisciplinaires est crucial pour doter la prochaine génération d'universitaires des mentalités et des outils nécessaires pour garantir que la science urbaine est orientée vers un changement transformateur et systémique dans les villes africaines.

Télécharger le rapport

Messages clés et recommandations

  • Les défis urbains nécessitent de nouvelles méthodes de production de connaissances. Ceux-ci devraient transcender les secteurs, les disciplines et les cultures, et reconnaître la complexité, l'incertitude et la nature contestée du développement urbain. La coproduction de connaissances est un processus enrichissant. Il offre un espace de dialogue, d'apprentissage et de collaboration entre les différentes parties prenantes. Les équipes de recherche qui combinent des scientifiques de différentes disciplines académiques avec des acteurs non académiques sont mieux équipées pour gérer la complexité du monde réel. Cette approche offre également de nouvelles possibilités d'engagement au sein et entre les institutions, aidant à briser la mentalité de silo et stimulant la transformation des structures et processus institutionnels existants dans les universités et autres partenaires. Grâce à la coproduction de connaissances, des scientifiques de différentes disciplines entreprennent des recherches avec des praticiens et des décideurs politiques à travers les secteurs et les échelles géographiques, et créent et testent conjointement des solutions locales pour apporter un changement transformateur dans les villes.
  • La coproduction de connaissances offre des avantages pour la mise en œuvre des ODD dans les villes africaines. Travailler avec différentes parties prenantes aide les chercheurs à mieux comprendre les besoins et les intérêts locaux, à acquérir une compréhension globale des problèmes et à coproduire des connaissances et des solutions locales. En encourageant de nouveaux partenariats locaux dans différents secteurs, la coproduction de connaissances aide à ancrer les ODD dans le contexte local et augmente la réactivité des communautés à l'agenda mondial. En offrant un espace aux parties prenantes pour exprimer leurs contraintes et leurs aspirations, il favorise une meilleure participation des groupes qui sont généralement réduits au silence et formellement exclus dans la mise en œuvre des ODD. Cela rend le processus de production de connaissances plus inclusif. En rassemblant des acteurs et des secteurs en conflit, il aide à identifier l'interdépendance entre les ODD et les moyens de les atteindre. Enfin, la coproduction de connaissances permet de tirer parti de l'expertise, des compétences et des ressources nécessaires à la mise en œuvre des ODD.
  • Pour réaliser le plein potentiel du processus de coproduction de connaissances, les chercheurs doivent :
    • Être stratégique et réaliste quant à l'engagement avec les politiques et la société, et bien réfléchir à qui s'engager et à quelle étape du processus de recherche. Sur la base des apprentissages du LIRA à ce jour, il existe trois phases principales de production de connaissances. Chacun contribue à rassembler différents types de connaissances, à favoriser l'apprentissage entre les institutions et à établir des partenariats intersectoriels. Ces phases sont l'élaboration conjointe d'agendas de recherche ; co-concevoir des méthodes pour la génération et l'utilisation des connaissances ; et la co-création d'options politiques et d'actions pour le changement.
    • Passer du temps au début du projet à identifier des façons de travailler ensemble, à comprendre les intérêts individuels dans le projet et à établir la confiance.
    • Créer un espace permettant à l'équipe du projet et aux partenaires de réfléchir aux méthodes et processus de recherche et de les adapter, si nécessaire, aux conditions évolutives.
    • Écouter attentivement ceux qui agiront sur les résultats de la recherche, afin de comprendre leurs préoccupations et leurs aspirations et de créer des produits de connaissance utiles dans le monde réel.
    • Gérer adéquatement les attentes des parties prenantes, notamment celles des collectivités locales.
    • Réfléchir de manière critique sur les dynamiques de pouvoir existantes, sur les positions et les expériences de chacun, et sur les moyens d'interrompre la reproduction de relations de pouvoir inégales.
  • La complexité et le caractère unique des villes africaines signifient que davantage de bourses d'études sur les villes africaines d'Afrique sont nécessaires. Les problèmes urbains en Afrique sont nettement différents de ceux des autres régions, davantage d'efforts devraient être faits pour soutenir le développement des théories et des cadrages de la recherche africaine, pour saisir les problèmes et les solutions dans leur contexte spécifique.
  • Les institutions universitaires et les agences de financement internationales et nationales devraient envisager de créer en Afrique des environnements propices à la coproduction de connaissances impliquant différents acteurs de la société. Les processus politiques mondiaux tels que l'Agenda 2030 appellent à des contributions plus fortes de la science. Mais la coproduction de connaissances est encore mal récompensée par les mécanismes de financement et les structures académiques. S'engager dans la recherche transdisciplinaire peut être risqué pour les scientifiques en début de carrière. Il existe très peu d'opportunités de développement de carrière transdisciplinaire au sein des institutions axées sur la discipline. Pour résoudre ce problème, il faudrait des changements structurels au sein des institutions mais aussi au sein du système dominant d'incitations académiques et de la culture « publier ou périr ». Reconnaître et récompenser les résultats non académiques du travail de coproduction de connaissances, tels que l'apprentissage social et institutionnel, le développement des capacités, l'engagement avec les politiques et le public et l'établissement de relations, encouragerait la recherche axée sur les solutions. La création d'un plus grand nombre de revues à comité de lecture axées sur la publication de recherches transdisciplinaires serait également bénéfique. En outre, les barrières administratives qui empêchent les transferts de fonds entre les institutions et à travers les frontières doivent être supprimées si les avantages de la collaboration, de l'échange de connaissances et de l'apprentissage entre les universités et les villes d'Afrique doivent être pleinement réalisés. 

    Les mécanismes de financement devraient également inclure des ressources pour des activités qui peuvent ne pas être directement liées à la recherche. Ceux-ci pourraient inclure le renforcement des capacités pour la recherche transdisciplinaire, l'engagement du public et des politiques, la communication et le réseau - et le renforcement de la communauté. Des cours sur la coproduction de connaissances, sur la mise en œuvre de la recherche, sur la construction de la communication, ainsi que sur les compétences de facilitation et de négociation, devraient être considérés comme faisant partie des études de premier cycle et de troisième cycle. Cela préparerait la prochaine génération de scientifiques à agir en tant que courtiers du savoir et à diriger l'engagement avec différentes parties prenantes, en comblant le fossé entre la science, la politique et la société et en favorisant la collaboration intersectorielle autour des défis urbains.
  • Le renforcement des capacités scientifiques – en particulier des universitaires de la prochaine génération – pour coproduire des connaissances sur le développement urbain durable est un processus soutenu à long terme. Cependant, l'approche actuelle du financement de la recherche et du renforcement des capacités est à court terme et basée sur des projets. Il ne soutient pas l'accumulation et l'application des connaissances sur la durabilité. Elle ne permet pas non plus de suivre les résultats des connaissances coproduites. Cela empêche également les relations et les partenariats créés entre la science, les politiques et la société de se maintenir dans le temps. Cela diminue l'impact des investissements réalisés dans l'établissement de la confiance et du partenariat, et laisse aux participants le sentiment de ne pas accomplir pleinement ce qu'ils avaient l'intention de faire. Sans financement à plus long terme pour la recherche transdisciplinaire, les chercheurs et autres parties prenantes peuvent retourner dans leurs disciplines et domaines une fois le projet terminé. Cela rend difficile une approche intégrée pour résoudre les défis du développement urbain en Afrique.

Vidéos du projet


Télécharger le rapport

Passer au contenu

Advancing the 2030 Agenda in African cities through knowledge co-production

Urban experiments led by early-career African scientists

The report describes current examples of collaboration between science, policy and society carried out through transdisciplinary research in a range of African cities. All are being implemented under a research programme known as Leading Integrated Research for Agenda 2030 in Africa (LIRA 2030 Africa).

The report sheds light on what it takes to co-produce knowledge on sustainable urban development in Africa through collaboration among scientists, policy actors, urban practitioners, the private sector and communities, and what opportunities and challenges this engaged process of knowledge production creates. It suggests options for creating enabling environments and for enhancing the capacity of African scientists to undertake this type of research.

The projects profiled in this report inspire hope for early-career African scientists to cross the conventional boundaries between science, policy and society, and to do research that is innovative, engaged, relevant, and that ultimately contributes to social change. Investment in transdisciplinary research and training is crucial to equip the next generation of scholars with the mind-sets and tools needed to ensure that urban science is geared towards transformative and systemic change in African cities.

Download the report

Authors

Kareem Buyana

Katsia Paulavets

Alice McClure

Tolu Oni

Justin Visagie

Sylvia Croese

Amollo Ambole

Philip Osano

Mabel Nechia Wantim


Editors

Shuaib Lwasa

Zarina Patel

Key messages and recommendations

  • Urban challenges require novel methods of knowledge production. These should cut across sectors, disciplines, and cultures, and acknowledge the complexity, uncertainty and contested nature of urban development. Knowledge co-production is an enriching process. It provides space for dialogue, learning and collaboration between different stakeholders. Research teams that combine scientists from different academic disciplines with non-academic stakeholders are better equipped to manage the complexity of the real world. This approach also offers new possibilities for engaging within and across institutions, helping to break the silo mentality and stimulating the transformation of existing institutional structures and processes in universities and other partners. Through knowledge co-production, scientists from different disciplines undertake research with practitioners and policy-makers across sectors and geographical scales, and create and test local solutions jointly to bring about transformative change in cities.
  • Knowledge co-production offers benefits for implementing the SDGs in African cities. Working with different stakeholders helps researchers to have a better understanding of local needs and interests, to gain a holistic understanding of problems, and to co-produce locally grounded knowledge and solutions. By fostering new place-based partnerships across different sectors, knowledge co-production helps anchor SDGs in the local context, and increases the responsiveness of communities to the global agenda. By providing a space for stakeholders to express their constraints and aspirations, it promotes better participation of groups that are usually silenced and formally excluded in the implementation of the SDGs. This makes the knowledge production process more inclusive. By bringing contending actors and sectors together, it helps identify interconnectedness between the SDGs, and ways to achieve them. Finally, knowledge co-production helps to leverage the expertise, skills and resources required to implement the SDGs.
  • Realizing the full potential of knowledge co-production process requires researchers:
    • To be strategic and realistic about the engagement with policy and society, and to think carefully about whom to engage and at what stage of the research process. Based on the LIRA learnings to date, there are three main phases of knowledge production. Each helps to bring together different types of knowledge, foster learning across institutions, and build cross-sectoral partnerships. These phases are the joint framing of research agendas; co-designing methods for knowledge generation and use; and the co-creation of policy options and action for change.
    • To spend time early in the project on identifying ways of working together, understanding individual interests in the project, and building trust.
    • To create space for the project team and partners to reflect about research methods and processes and adapt them, if necessary, to evolving conditions.
    • To listen attentively to those who will act upon research findings, in order to understand their concerns and aspirations and create knowledge products that are useful in the real world.
    • To manage adequately the expectations of stakeholders, especially those of local communities.
    • To critically reflect on existing power dynamics, on each other’s positions and experiences, and on ways of interrupting the reproduction of unequal power relations.
  • The complexity and uniqueness of African cities means that more scholarship on African cities from Africa is needed. Urban issues in Africa are distinctly different from those of other regions, more attempts should be made to support the development of African research theories and framing, to grasp the problems and solutions in their specific context.
  • Academic institutions, and international and national funding agencies, should consider creating enabling environments in Africa for knowledge co-production involving different societal actors. Global policy processes such as the 2030 Agenda call for stronger contributions from science. But knowledge co-production is still poorly rewarded by funding mechanisms and academic structures. Committing to transdisciplinary research can be risky for early-career scientists. There are very few opportunities for transdisciplinary career development within discipline-centred institutions. To address this issue would require structural changes within the institutions but also within the prevailing system of academic incentives and the ‘publish or perish’ culture. Acknowledging and rewarding the non-academic outcomes of knowledge co-production work, such as social and institutional learning, capacity development, engagement with policy and the public, and relationship-building, would encourage solutions-oriented research. Creating more peer-reviewed journals that are focused on publishing transdisciplinary research would be also beneficial. Furthermore, administrative barriers that prevent funds transfers between institutions and across borders need to be removed if the benefits of collaboration, knowledge exchange and learning across universities and cities in Africa are to be fully realized. 

    Funding mechanisms should also include resources for activities that may not be directly linked to research. These might include capacity-building for transdisciplinary research, public and policy engagement, communication, and network – and community-building. Courses on knowledge co-production, on putting research into use, on building communication, as well as on facilitation and negotiation skills, should be considered as part of undergraduate and postgraduate studies. This would prepare the next generation of scientists to act as knowledge brokers and to lead engagement with different stakeholders, bridging the divide between science, policy and society and fostering cross-sectoral collaboration around urban challenges.
  • Building scientific capacity – especially of next-generation scholars – to co-produce knowledge on sustainable urban development is a sustained long-term process. However, the current approach to funding research and capacity-building is short-term and project-based. It does not support the accumulation and application of knowledge on sustainability. Nor does it allow the outcomes of co-produced knowledge to be tracked. It also prevents the relationships and partnerships created between science, policy and society from being sustained over time. This diminishes the impact of investments made in building trust and partnership, and leaves participants with the sense of not fully accomplishing what they intended to do. Without longer-term funding for transdisciplinary research, researchers and other stakeholders may go back to their disciplines and domains once a project ends. This makes an integrated approach to solving challenges in African urban development difficult to achieve.

Project videos


Download the report

Share: