支持联合国数字合作路线图的环境可持续性联盟

该项目承认新数字技术的变革力量,旨在最大限度地发挥其对科学和实现可持续发展目标的益处。

支持联合国数字合作路线图的环境可持续性联盟

数字化可以推动向可持续发展的转型,也可以阻碍它。 为了让人类抓住机遇,决策者必须采取行动。

联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯 (António Guterres) 不断重申,我们需要深入变革,以防止气候灾难、消除贫困、减少不平等和遏制猖獗的民族主义。 例如,他在 2019 月在纽约举行的 XNUMX 年联合国气候危机和可持续发展目标 (SDG) 峰会上就这样做了。 

联合国领导人有充分的理由感到担忧。 大量科学出版物指出了我们所处的危险。政府间气候变化专门委员会 (IPCC) 可能编写了最令人印象深刻和最全面的报告。 科学界一直明确表示,如果我们要实现可持续性,我们需要进行深刻的变革。

回想起来,遗憾的是,2015 年国家元首和政府首脑通过的主要国际政策协议中并未提及数字化。这显然会对实现包括 2030 个可持续发展目标在内的联合国 17 年议程和《巴黎协定》产生影响。关于气候变化。 人工智能 (AI)、机器学习、虚拟现实和相关发展共同构成了一场不容忽视的技术革命。

CODES:促进数字环境可持续性的全球倡议

国际科学理事会、联合国环境规划署、联合国开发计划署、德国环境署、肯尼亚环境与林业、未来地球和数字时代的可持续发展部发起了一项新的旗舰倡议, 编码 (数字环境可持续性联盟)于 31 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日作为联合冠军。

CODES 是一个开放的利益相关者联盟,旨在将环境可持续性需求牢牢固定在数字合作路线图中。 通过共同设计和实施植根于共同价值观的共同愿景,该计划将致力于加速数字星球的可持续发展,重视蓬勃发展的自然生态系统、人类福祉和社区复原力。 联合倡导者将组织会议、形成讨论、发布旗舰报告并帮助建立合作,以实现环境可持续性数字化的加速计划。

来自世界各地的公共和私营部门以及民间社会组织的 800 多名成员积极为 CODES 做出贡献。 CODES 直接参与联合国内外有关此主题的高级别政治进程。

加入参与平台上的对话 火花蓝.

这个项目是在我们之前的 行动计划2019-2021.


预期影响

CODES 的战略目标是:

  1. 设定议程,倡导并提高对机会和风险的认识
  2. 召集和连接一个具有共同目标的全球社区 
  3. 促进实际行动、扶持政策和系统性影响
  4. 将环境优先事项纳入全球数字治理框架

关键里程碑

✅ 该计划于 31 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日启动。 观看录音。

✅ 举办第一次 CODES 圆桌会议,讨论“可持续发展的数字星球” 7 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日。

✅ 为积极致力于建设“可持续发展数字星球”的组织举办全球 CODES 会议。 会议致力于制定“数字环境可持续性加速计划”,并于 10 年 11 月 2021 日至 XNUMX 日举行。

✅ 在 2021 年 XNUMX 月举办第二次 CODES 圆桌会议,讨论数字环境可持续性加速计划草案。

✅ 在 7 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日的 CODES 圆桌会议上介绍最新的行动计划草案以供输入和反馈。请参阅 记录 圆桌会议。

✅CODES 报告的利益相关者圆桌会议咨询:可持续发展的数字星球。 7 月 XNUMX 日在 Sparkblue 和 Zoom 上举行了专门的虚拟利益相关者磋商,以最终确定报告。 此处提供录音: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpZm7tl-3_s&t=1s

✅于 50 年 2 月 2022 日在斯德哥尔摩 +XNUMX 上发布数字时代可持续发展地球的 CODES 行动计划: https://council.science/events/codes-stockholm50-action-plan/


接下来的步骤

🟡 在 31 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日之前提交您对全球数字契约的意见。 更多细节在这里

全球宪章“我们共同的数字未来”

🥇 该项目现已完成,ISC 及其合作伙伴继续在社区内推广其成果 代码。

ISC 与多个利益相关者合作开发了开放科学的国际标准制定工具。

为了解决这些问题,ISC 与德国联邦全球变化咨询委员会 (WBGU)、Future Earth 等合作,支持制定关于“我们共同的数字未来“。

数字时代全球可持续发展的制度框架需要一个以可持续数字时代国际宪章形式的规范性参考点。 WBGU 提交了此类章程的草案。 它与 2030 年议程和人权宣言紧密相连,同时又超越了它们。 该章程旨在作为国际社会的原则、目标和标准体系,并将数字化变革与必要的全球可持续发展视角联系起来。 它制定了保护人类尊严、自然生命支持系统、数字和数字化基础设施和技术的包容性和使用权以及数字时代个人和集体发展自由的目标和原则。 在此基础上,宪章规定了国际社会为应对数字时代挑战而制定的具体行动指南。 

宪章包含三个核心要素:第一,数字化设计应符合2030年议程,数字技术应用于实现可持续发展目标。 其次,在 2030 年议程之后,应避免系统性风险,特别是通过保护公民权利和人权、促进共同利益和确保决策主权。 第三,社会必须在程序上为未来的挑战做好准备,除其他外,商定道德准则并确保面向未来的研究和教育

这项工作的合作伙伴包括:地球联盟、未来地球、全球发展网络、国际科学理事会 (ISC)、南非国际事务研究所 (SAIIA)、发展中国家研究和信息系统 (RIS,印度)、可持续发展解决方案网络 (SDSN),联合国大学,2050 年世界。

阅读整章。


关键里程碑

✅ 2030 年 22 月 23 日至 2020 日召开了以“实施 XNUMX 年议程的数字化转型”为主题的虚拟专家组会议。会议由德国环境署 (UBA) 和德国联邦全球变化咨询委员会 ( WGBU),与 ISC、开发计划署、环境署和未来地球合作。

✅ ISC 和 WBGU 的负责人撰写了一份 新闻文章 对于我们的网站。

✅ ISC 还要求其会员提供关于 章程草案.

✅ 与德国联邦全球变化咨询委员会 (WGBU) 和合作伙伴的合作促成了数字环境可持续性联盟的成立 (代码) 其中ISC是联合冠军。

海德·哈克曼 (Heide Hackmann) 在 2019 年在纽约向 ISC 成员发表讲话,讨论数字宪章

“如果不利用数字变革的力量,我们将无法实现可持续发展目标和巴黎气候目标。 如果没有认识到数字技术的影响,我们就有可能加深数字鸿沟,可能会加剧不平等,并将权力集中在技术先进者的手中,从而对可持续发展、有效民主和公民权利产生连锁反应。”

博客: 我们共同的数字未来

联系我们

跳到内容

Coalition for Environmental Sustainability in support of the UN’s Roadmap for Digital Cooperation

Acknowledging the transformational force of the new digital technologies, this project aims to maximize their benefits for science and for the achievement of the SDGs.

Digitalization can either drive the transformation to sustainability or thwart it. For humanity to grasp the opportunities, policymakers must act.

António Guterres, the UN secretary general, keeps reiterating that we need deep transformations to prevent climate disaster as well as to fight poverty, reduce inequalities and stem rampant nationalism. He did so, for example, at the 2019 UN summits on the climate crises and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in New York in September. 

The UN leader has ample reason to be worried. A mountain of scientific publications points out the danger we are in. Probably the most impressive and comprehensive reports have been produced by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). The scientific community has been making it absolutely clear that we need deep change if we are to achieve sustainability.

In retrospect, it is unfortunate that digitalization was not mentioned in the major international policy agreements that heads of state and governments adopted in 2015. It obviously will have a bearing on achieving the UN’s 2030 Agenda, which includes the 17 SDGs, and the Paris Agreement on Climate Change. Artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning, virtual realities and related developments add up to a technological revolution which cannot be ignored.

CODES: Global initiative to advance digital environmental sustainability

The International Science Council, UNEP, UNDP, the German Environment Agency, the Kenyan Ministry of Environment and Forestry, Future Earth, and Sustainability in the Digital Age launched a new flagship initiative, CODES (Coalition for Digital Environmental Sustainability) as co-champions on 31 March 2021.

CODES is an open stakeholder coalition established to firmly anchor environmental sustainability needs within the Digital Cooperation Roadmap. Through co-design and implementation of a common vision rooted in shared values, the initiative will work to accelerate a digital planet for sustainability that values thriving natural ecosystems, human wellbeing and community resilience. The co-champions will organize meetings, shape discussions, issue flagship reports and help forge collaborations towards an Acceleration Plan for Digitalizing Environmental Sustainability.

Over 800 members actively contribute to CODES from public and private sectors and civil society organizations from around the world. CODES engages directly with the high-level political process on this subject at the UN level and beyond.

Join the conversation on the engagement platform SparkBlue.

This project started under our previous Action Plan 2019-2021.


Anticipated impact

The strategic objective of CODES is to:

  1. Set the agenda, advocate and raise awareness on opportunities and risks
  2. Convene and connect a global community of common purpose 
  3. Catalyze practical action, enabling policies and systemic impacts
  4. Integrate environmental priorities into the global digital governance framework

Key milestones

✅ The initiative launched on 31 March 2021. Watch the recording.

✅ Hosting a first CODES roundtable to discuss the draft report and agenda for “A Digital Planet for Sustainability” on 7 May 2021.

✅ Delivering a global CODES conference for organizations that are actively contributing to building “A Digital Planet for Sustainability”. The conference worked towards defining an “Acceleration Plan on Digital Environmental Sustainability” and was held on 10 – 11 June 2021.

✅ Hosting a second CODES roundtable to discuss the draft Acceleration Plan on Digital Environmental Sustainability in July 2021.

✅ Presentation of the latest draft of the Action plan for input and feedback at CODES roundtable on 7 February 2022. See the recording of the roundtable session.


Next steps

🟡 UNEA 5.2 CODES Side Event: On the basis of the input received, the CODES co-champions will conduct a revision of the Action Plan to be presented at a side event to the UN Environment Assembly (UNEA) on 2 March 2022 for a final round of stakeholder consultation, in particular by UN member states and other UNEA stakeholders. From this, the report will be finalized and submitted to the UN Technology Envoy for onward transmission to the UN Secretary General. Once adopted, it will become a formal track of the SG’s Digital Cooperation Roadmap. It will then be transformed into a commitment framework that CODES members can contribute to.

Global Charter ‘Our Common Digital Future’

The ISC worked collaboratively with multiple stakeholders to develop an international standard-setting instrument on Open Science.

To address these issues, and in partnership with the German Federal Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU), Future Earth and others, the ISC supported the development of a global charter on ‘Our Common Digital Future’.

The institutional framework for global sustainable development in the Digital Age needs a normative reference point in the form of an international charter for a sustainable Digital Age. The WBGU submited a draft for such a charter. It ties in with the 2030 Agenda and the Declaration of Human Rights and, at the same time, goes beyond them. The charter is intended to serve as a system of principles, objectives and standards for the international community and to link digital change with the necessary global sustainability perspective. It formulates objectives and principles for the protection of human dignity, natural life-support systems, inclusion in and access to digital and digitalized infrastructures and technologies, as well as individual and collective freedom of development in the Digital Age. On this basis, the charter sets out concrete guidelines for action to be drawn up by the international community with a view to the challenges of the Digital Age. 

The charter contains three core elements: First, digitalization should be designed in line with the 2030 Agenda, and digital technology should be used to achieve the SDGs. Second, beyond the 2030 Agenda, systemic risks should be avoided, in particular by protecting civil and human rights, promoting the common good and ensuring decision-making sovereignty. Third, societies must prepare themselves procedurally for future challenges by agreeing, among other things, on ethical guidelines and ensuring future-oriented research and education

Partners for this work included: Earth League, Future Earth, Global Development Network, International Science Council (ISC), The South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA), Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS, India), Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN), United Nations University, World in 2050.

Read the full chapter.


Key milestones

✅ A virtual expert group meeting on the topic “Digital Transformation for the Implementation of the 2030-Agenda” was convened on 22-23 June 2020. It was led by the German Environmental Agency (UBA) and German Federal Advisory Council on Global Change (WGBU), in partnership with the ISC, UNDP, UNEP and Future Earth.

✅ Heads of the ISC and WBGU authored a news article for our website.

✅ The ISC also asked its Membership for input on the draft charter.

Heide Hackmann addresses ISC members discussing the digital charter in New York, 2019

“Without leveraging the power of digital change, we will not achieve the SDGs and the Paris Climate Goals. And without recognizing the impact of digital technologies, we risk deepening digital divides, potentially increasing inequalities and concentrating power in the hands of the technologically advanced, with knock-on consequences for sustainable development, for effective democracies and for civil rights.”

Blog: Our Common Digital Future

Contact

Share:

Skip to content