Verein registrieren

Sir Peter Glückmann

President

Internationaler Wissenschaftsrat

Engagement am ISC

  • ISC-Präsident
  • Erstes Vorstandsmitglied des ISC
  • ISC Foundation Fellow (Juni 2022)

Hintergrund

Peter Gluckman wurde im Oktober 2021 Präsident des International Science Council. Seine Amtszeit läuft bis zum Generalversammlung von 2024. Er ist auch ein ISC-Fellow und ein Mitglied des Fellowship Council, sowie ein Mitglied des Globale Kommission für Wissenschaftsmissionen für Nachhaltigkeit.

Peter Gluckman ist ein international anerkannter biomedizinischer Wissenschaftler und derzeit Leiter Koi Tū: Das Zentrum für informierte Zukunft an der Universität von Auckland. Von 2009-2018 war er erster Chief Science Advisor der neuseeländischen Premierminister und von 2012-2018 Wissenschaftsbeauftragter für das neuseeländische Ministerium für auswärtige Angelegenheiten und Handel. Er war Gründungsvorsitzender des International Network of Government Science Advice (INGSA) von 2014-2021.

Er wurde zum Kinderarzt und biomedizinischen Wissenschaftler ausgebildet und veröffentlichte über 700 Artikel und mehrere wissenschaftliche und populärwissenschaftliche Bücher in den Bereichen Tierwissenschaften, Entwicklungsphysiologie, Wachstum und Entwicklung sowie Evolutionsbiologie und Evolutionsmedizin. Ein Schlüsselthema seiner Forschung war das Verständnis, wie die Umgebung eines Babys zwischen Empfängnis und Geburt seine kindliche Entwicklung und lebenslange Gesundheit bestimmt – und die Auswirkungen, die dieses Wissen auf Einzelpersonen und ganze Bevölkerungen hat. Er war Co-Vorsitzender der WHO-Kommission zur Beendigung der Fettleibigkeit bei Kindern (2013-2017). Er ist Chief Scientific Officer des Singapore Institute for Clinical Sciences.

Peter Gluckman hat ausführlich über Wissenschaftspolitik, Risikobewertung, Wissenschaftsdiplomatie und Wechselwirkungen zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft geschrieben und gesprochen. 2016 erhielt er den AAAS Award in Science Diplomacy. Er hat die höchsten zivilen und wissenschaftlichen Auszeichnungen in Neuseeland erhalten. Er ist Fellow der Royal Society of London, der Royal Society of New Zealand, Fellow der Academy of Medical Sciences (UK) und Mitglied der National Academy of Medicine (USA). Er hat eine Distinguished University Professorship an der University of Auckland, Neuseeland, und ist Ehrenvorsitzender des University College London, der University of Southampton und der National University of Singapore.



Diese Seite wurde im Mai 2024 aktualisiert.

Zum Inhalt

Sir Peter Gluckman

Head of Koi Tū: The Centre for Informed Futures, University of Auckland, New Zealand.

ISC President, ISC Fellow, Member of the Fellowship Council, Member of the
Global Commission on Science Missions for Sustainability

Peter Gluckman became President of the International Science Council in October 2021. His term will continue until the General Assembly of 2024. He is also an ISC Fellow and a member of the Fellowship Council, as well as a member of the Global Commission on Science Missions for Sustainability.

Peter Gluckman is an internationally recognized biomedical scientist, and currently heads Koi Tū: The Centre for Informed Futures at the University of Auckland. From 2009-2018 he was first Chief Science Advisor to the Prime Ministers of New Zealand and from 2012-2018 Science Envoy for the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.  He was foundation chair of the International Network of Government Science Advice (INGSA) from 2014-2021.

He trained as a paediatrician and biomedical scientist, publishing over 700 papers and several academic and popular books in animal science, developmental physiology, growth and development and evolutionary biology and evolutionary medicine. A key theme of his research has been on understanding how a baby’s environment between conception and birth determines its childhood development and life-long health – and the impact that this knowledge has for individuals and whole populations. He co-chaired the WHO Commission on Ending Childhood Obesity (2013-2017). He is chief scientific officer of the Singapore Institute for Clinical Sciences.

Peter Gluckman has written and spoken extensively on science-policy, risk assessment, science-diplomacy, and science-society interactions. In 2016 he received the AAAS award in Science Diplomacy. He has received the highest civilian and scientific honours in New Zealand. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of London, of the Royal Society of New Zealand a fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences (UK) and a member of the National Academy of Medicine (USA). He holds a Distinguished University Professorship in the University of Auckland, New Zealand and honorary chairs at the University College London, University of Southampton and National University of Singapore.


president@council.science

Share:

Skip to content