Jetzt anmelden

Salim Abdool Karim

Vizepräsident für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Engagement

Internationaler Wissenschaftsrat

Engagement am ISC

  • ISC-Vizepräsident für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Engagement (2022 – 2024)
  • ISC Foundation Fellow (Juni 2022)
  • Mitglied des Aufsichtsgremiums des COVID-19 Scenarios Project

Hintergrund

Er ist außerordentlicher Professor für Immunologie und Infektionskrankheiten an der Harvard University, Boston, außerordentlicher Professor für Medizin an der Cornell University, New York, und Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) an der University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban. Er ist assoziiertes Mitglied des Ragon Institute of Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH), des Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) und der Harvard University. Zuvor war er Präsident des South African Medical Research Council und ist derzeit Co-Vorsitzender des South African Ministerial Advisory Committee on COVID-19 sowie Mitglied der Africa Task Force for Coronavirus und der Lancet Commission on COVID- 19.

Dr. Abdool Karim gehört zu den weltweit am häufigsten zitierten Wissenschaftlern von Web of Science. Er ist Vorstandsmitglied mehrerer Zeitschriften, darunter die New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet Weltweite Gesundheit, Lanzette HIV und MBIO. Er ist Vorsitzender des wissenschaftlichen Expertengremiums von UNAIDS, des HIV Strategic and Technical Advisory Committee der WHO sowie der TB-HIV Task Force der WHO. Er ist Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Beirats für globale Gesundheit der Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

Zu seinen zahlreichen Auszeichnungen gehören der „Kwame Nkrumah Award“ der Afrikanischen Union, Afrikas renommiertester wissenschaftlicher Preis, der Kuwait Al-Sumait Award, der kanadische Gairdner Global Health Award und Spitzenpreise der African Academy of Sciences, der Academy of Science in South Africa, Royal Society of South Africa und dem South African Medical Research Council. Er ist Mitglied der US National Academy of Medicine, der American Academy of Microbiology und der Association of American Physicians.

Er ist Fellow der Royal Society (FRS).


Diese Seite wurde im Mai 2024 aktualisiert.

Zum Inhalt

Salim Abdool Karim

Salim S. Abdool Karim, FRS, is a South African clinical infectious diseases epidemiologist widely recognized for scientific contributions to HIV prevention and treatment. He is Director of the Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA), Durban, and CAPRISA Professor of Global Health at Columbia University, New York.

He is an Adjunct Professor of Immunology and Infectious Diseases at Harvard University, Boston, Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Cornell University, New York, and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban. He is an Associate Member of The Ragon Institute of Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH), Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Harvard University. He previously served as President of the South African Medical Research Council and is currently serving as the Co-Chair of the South African Ministerial Advisory Committee on COVID-19 and as a Member of the Africa Task Force for Coronavirus and the Lancet Commission on COVID-19.

Dr Abdool Karim is ranked among the world’s most highly cited scientists by Web of Science. He serves on the Boards of several journals, including the New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet Global Health, Lancet HIV and mBio. He is the Chair of the UNAIDS Scientific Expert Panel, WHO’s HIV Strategic and Technical Advisory Committee as well as the WHO TB-HIV Task Force. He is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board for Global Health at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

His many awards include the African Union’s “Kwame Nkrumah Award” which is Africa’s most prestigious scientific award, the Kuwait Al-Sumait Award, the Canadian Gairdner Global Health Award and pinnacle awards from the African Academy of Sciences, Academy of Science in South Africa, Royal Society of South Africa and the South African Medical Research Council. He is member of the US National Academy of Medicine, the American Academy of Microbiology and the Association of American Physicians.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS).

Share: