حساب جديد

ورقة الموقف

ورقة موقف لعام 2020 HLPF: العمل المعجل والمسارات التحويلية

تحقيق عقد العمل والتنفيذ من أجل التنمية المستدامة

المجموعة الرئيسية للمجتمع العلمي والتكنولوجي ، يشترك في تيسيرها المجلس الدولي للعلوم و الاتحاد العالمي للمنظمات الهندسية (WFEO)، تسعى إلى إدخال الأدلة العلمية في عمليات السياسات المتعلقة بالتنمية المستدامة ، بما في ذلك المفاوضات الحكومية الدولية ، في الأمم المتحدة.

بالنسبة 2020 المنتدى السياسي رفيع المستوى (HLPF) ، منصة الأمم المتحدة الرئيسية لرصد ومراجعة التقدم المحرز نحو تنفيذ جدول 2030 وأهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) ، قدمت المجموعة الرئيسية للعلوم والتكنولوجيا ورقة موقف تتعلق بموضوع هذا العام "العمل المعجل والمسارات التحويلية: تحقيق عقد من العمل وتحقيق التنمية المستدامة".

سيعقد المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى في الفترة من 7 إلى 16 يوليو ، وسيعقد بشكل أساسي تقريبًا.



الصفقات المميزة

تجمع ورقة الموقف المدخلات من مجموعة واسعة من المنظمات والبرامج الشريكة مثل برنامج التحولات إلى الاستدامة (T2S), مستقبل الأرض, LIRA 2030 أفريقياأطلقت حملة المعهد الدولي لتحليل النظم التطبيقية (IIASA) ، و معهد ستوكهولم للبيئة (SEI) وغيرها. وستتاح الوثيقة على موقع الأمم المتحدة على شبكة الإنترنت وسيتم إدراج ملخص للورقة في المساهمة الرسمية للمجموعات الرئيسية وأصحاب المصلحة في الاجتماع. سيتم نشر كلا الوثيقتين هنا.

تؤكد ورقة الموقف على مساهمة العلم والتكنولوجيا في تسريع التحولات لدعم خطة عام 2030 من خلال تقديم أمثلة على المبادرات الملموسة التي أنشأها المجتمع العلمي والتكنولوجي لدعم وتعزيز العمل التحويلي.

ومع ذلك ، فإن الكشف عن الإمكانات الكاملة لخطة 2030 يتطلب:

  • تعزيز الدعم المالي للبحث والتطوير بهدف توجيه إنتاج المعرفة العلمية نحو تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة
  • الوصول الواسع إلى المعرفة العلمية الحالية والناشئة والبيانات وأدوات الاختراق
  • إطار مؤسسي عالمي معزز لضمان ، من بين أمور أخرى ، استخدام أفضل المعارف العلمية المتعلقة بالتنمية المستدامة لدعم عملية صنع القرار.

الرسائل والتوصيات الرئيسية

يجب أن تصبح أزمة كوفيد-19 بمثابة المسرّع الكبير للتحولات نحو مجتمع أكثر استدامة وإنصافاً وفعالية
عالم صحي

في حين أن الأولوية العاجلة للبلدان هي حل الأزمة الصحية وحماية الفئات الأكثر ضعفاً ، فإن تفشي COVID-19 يوفر على المدى الطويل فرصة مهمة لإعادة التفكير في أسس مجتمعاتنا والابتعاد عن النظام الحالي حيث عدم المساواة في تم تضمين شروط الضعف والتأثير البيئي هيكليًا. وبهذا المعنى ، يجب أن تصبح أزمة COVID-19 المسرع الأكبر للتحولات نحو عالم أكثر استدامة وإنصافًا وصحة.

يتطلب تحقيق عالم مستدام ومنصف وصحي نهج تحولات متكامل

يتطلب تحقيق عالم مستدام ومنصف وصحي نهج تحولات متكامل ، مثل ذلك المعروض في تقرير التنمية المستدامة العالمية 2019 (GSDR 2019) ، الذي يتناول أهداف التنمية المستدامة بطريقة شاملة ومنهجية ، وليس كمجموعة من الأهداف المنفصلة والأهداف والمؤشرات المرتبطة بها. مع بقاء عشر سنوات فقط ، تحتاج البلدان والمناطق بشكل عاجل إلى تصميم وتنفيذ مسارات متكاملة ومراعية للسياق وقابلة للتحقيق نحو تحقيق التحول على جميع المستويات والمقاييس.

تعزيز المساهمة من العلوم الاجتماعية و
الإنسانية، والتعاون الأقوى والأكثر إنصافًا
هناك حاجة ملحة لتفعيل شامل و
أطر التحول المتكاملة

سيتطلب تفعيل أطر التحول الشاملة والمتكاملة ما يلي:

  • مساهمة مهمة من العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية في فهم وإدراك تأثير التاريخ والثقافة والسياق على التحولات ، وظروف ونتائج التحولات المحتملة ، ودور صنع المعنى الذاتي في رؤيتنا للعالم ، والأخلاق والمسؤوليات التي ينطوي عليها التحول المتعمد ، و تعقيد عمليات صنع القرار والحوكمة ، بما في ذلك دور العلم في عملية السياسة ؛
  • عمليات جماعية لتحديد مكان العلم المطلوب وأين الاستثمارات العامة والخاصة ينبغي إعطاء الأولوية لتسريع تحقيق خطة عام 2030 ؛
  • تعاون أقوى وأكثر إنصافًا عبر السياسة والعلوم والمجتمع المدني ومجتمعات أصحاب المصلحة الآخرين على جميع المستويات والمقاييس.

هناك حاجة ملحة لإعادة التفكير في دور وأهمية التكنولوجيا في تحقيق أجندة 2030

هناك حاجة ملحة لإعادة التفكير في دور وأهمية التكنولوجيا لتحقيق خطة عام 2030 ، وكيف يمكن إعادة توجيهها من أجل المساهمة بشكل أكثر جدوى في تنفيذ أهداف التنمية المستدامة بطريقة تحويلية. ال آلية تيسير التكنولوجيا العالمية التابعة للأمم المتحدة يجب أن تصبح وسيلة لتقييم ما إذا كان المخزون الحالي من التكنولوجيا والمعرفة كافٍ لتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة ومناسب للنقل عبر العالم.

نحن بحاجة إلى معالجة التهديدات المتعددة والمخاطر المعقدة والتفاعلات التي قد تهدد التقدم نحو أهداف التنمية المستدامة

يجب أن يأخذ تنفيذ ومراجعة أهداف التنمية المستدامة في الاعتبار التهديدات المتعددة والمخاطر المعقدة والتفاعلات التي قد تهدد التقدم إذا لم تكن البرامج مرنة بما فيه الكفاية. يتطلب وضع المفاهيم وتحديد وفهم المخاطر مناهج متكاملة متعددة التخصصات من العلوم ، والتعاون بين العلم والسياسة ، والمشاركة عبر القطاعات من قبل الحكومة. يعتبر تعزيز جمع البيانات وتبادلها من الأنشطة الأساسية لتحقيق هذه الغاية.

يجب تنسيق الأطر الخمسة الرئيسية للسياسات البيئية بشكل أفضل لتسريع العمل والتسليم

لمزيد من الاتساق والتأثير ، ينبغي تنفيذ خمسة أطر رئيسية للسياسات البيئية - خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 ، وإطار سنداي للحد من مخاطر الكوارث ، واتفاق باريس بشأن تغير المناخ ، والإطار العالمي للتنوع البيولوجي ، والأجندة الحضرية الجديدة - تنسيق أفضل لتشكيل جدول أعمال عالمي متكامل للعمل من أجل عالم عادل ومستدام وقادر على الصمود.

وتحتاج الدول الأعضاء والمناطق وأصحاب المصلحة إلى ذلك بشكل عاجل
فكر في كيفية استجابتهم للموقف
من الطوارئ الكوكبية

تحتاج الدول الأعضاء والمناطق وأصحاب المصلحة بشكل عاجل إلى النظر في كيفية الاستجابة لحالة الطوارئ الكوكبية حيث تكون المخاطر والإلحاح مرتفعين ، في مواجهة الأدلة المتزايدة على أن التغير البيئي العالمي سيعبر قريبًا نقاط التحول التي تؤدي إلى آثار متتالية عبر قطاعات متعددة والمناطق. سيكون التعلم من أزمة COVID-19 مهمًا لأنه أظهر أن الحكومات يمكن أن تتصرف بسرعة وحزم في أي أزمة ، ويمكن للناس تغيير سلوكهم في مواجهة تهديد وجودي.

يجب تعزيز الأطر المؤسسية العالمية ، مثل المنتدى السياسي رفيع المستوى ، لتسريع العمل والتنفيذ

يجب تعزيز الإطار المؤسسي العالمي من أجل تسريع العمل نحو تحقيق خطة عام 2030. يعد استعراض المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى فرصة حيوية وضرورية لتحويل المنتدى إلى ساحة قائمة على المعرفة ومتماسكة وعملية المنحى من خلال تحسين تقييم وتحليل المدخلات القائمة على الأدلة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يجب على الأمم المتحدة اتخاذ خطوات لضمان أن المدخلات القائمة على الأدلة المنبثقة عن منتدى أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين حول العلم والتكنولوجيا والابتكار من أجل أهداف التنمية المستدامة (منتدى STI) تغذي بشكل أفضل المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى.

انتقل إلى المحتوى

Position paper for 2020 HLPF: Accelerated action and transformative pathways

Realizing the decade of action and delivery for sustainable development

Bright rainbow coloured network system on a black background. EPS 10 file using transparencies.

The Scientific and Technological Community Major Group, jointly facilitated by the International Science Council and the World Federation of Engineering Organizations (WFEO), seeks to input scientific evidence into sustainable development-related policy processes, including intergovernmental negotiations, at the United Nations.

For the 2020 High-Level Political Forum (HLPF), the main UN platform to monitor and review progress towards the implementation of the 2030 Agenda and its Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the Science and Technology Major Group has submitted a position paper related to this year’s theme “Accelerated action and transformative pathways: realizing the decade of action and delivery for sustainable development”.

The HLPF will take place 7-16 July and will be mainly held virtually.


Highlights

The position paper gathers inputs from a wide breadth of partner organizations and programmes such as the Transformations to Sustainability (T2S) programme, Future Earth, LIRA 2030 Africa, the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), the Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI) and others. The document will be made available on the UN website and a summary of the paper will be included in the Major Groups’ and stakeholders’ official contribution to the meeting. Both documents will be published here.

The position paper underscores the contribution of science and technology to accelerate transformations in support of the 2030 Agenda by providing examples of concrete initiatives set up by the scientific and technological community to sustain and bolster transformative action.

Revealing the full potential of the 2030 Agenda however requires:

  • strengthened research and development financial support aimed at orienting scientific knowledge production towards attaining the SDGs
  • wide access to existing and emerging scientific knowledge, data and breakthrough tools
  • a reinforced global institutional framework to ensure, among other things, that the best scientific knowledge related to sustainable development is utilized to uphold decision making.

Key messages and recommendations

The COVID-19 crisis must become the great accelerator of transformations towards a more sustainable, equitable and
healthy world

While the immediate priority for countries is to solve the health crisis and protect the most vulnerable, the COVID-19 outbreak offers in the longer term an important opportunity to rethink the very foundations of our societies and to move away from the existing system where inequalities in terms of vulnerability and environmental impact are structurally embedded. In that sense, the COVID-19 crisis must become the great accelerator of transformations towards a more sustainable, equitable and healthy world.

Achieving a sustainable, equitable and healthy world requires an integrated transformations approach

Achieving a sustainable, equitable and healthy world requires an integrated transformations approach, such as that offered in the Global Sustainable Development Report 2019 (GSDR 2019), which addresses the Sustainable Development Goals in a comprehensive, systemic way, rather than as a collection of discrete goals and associated targets and indicators. With just ten years to go, countries and regions urgently need to design and implement integrated, context-sensitive and attainable pathways towards achieving transformation at all levels and scales.

Strengthened contribution from the social sciences and
humanities, and stronger, more equitable collaborations are
urgently required to operationalize comprehensive and
integrated transformation frameworks

Operationalizing comprehensive and integrated transformation frameworks will require:

  • an important contribution from the social sciences and humanities in understanding and making sense of the bearing of history, culture and context on transformations, the conditions and consequences of possible transformations, the role of subjective sense-making in our visions of the world, the ethics and responsibilities involved in deliberate transformation, and the complexity of decision-making and governance processes, including the role of science in the policy process;
  • collective processes to define where science is needed and where public and private investments should be prioritized to accelerate the achievement of the 2030 Agenda;
  • stronger and more equitable collaboration across policy, science, civil society and other stakeholder communities at all levels and scales.

There is a special urgency to rethink the role and importance of technology in achieving the 2030 Agenda

There is a special urgency to rethink the role and importance of technology to achieve the 2030 Agenda, and how it could be reoriented in order to more meaningfully contribute to the implementation of the SDGs in a transformative way. The UN’s global Technology Facilitation Mechanism should become a vehicle to assess whether the current stock of technology and knowledge is sufficient for achieving the SDGs and suitable for transfer across the globe.

We need to address the multiple threats, complex risks and interactions that may threaten progress towards the SDGs

Implementation and review of the SDGs should take into account the multiple threats, complex risks and interactions which may threaten progress if programmes are not sufficiently resilient. The conceptualization, identification and understanding of risk demands interdisciplinary integrated approaches from science, collaboration between science and policy, and cross-sectoral engagement by government. Strengthening data collection and exchange are cornerstone activities towards this end.

The five major environmental policy frameworks should be better coordinated to accelerate action and delivery

For greater coherence and impact, the implementation of five major environmental policy frameworks – the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction, the Paris Agreement on Climate Change, the Global Biodiversity Framework, and the New Urban Agenda – should be better coordinated to form an integrated global agenda for action for an equitable, sustainable and resilient world.

Member States, regions and stakeholders urgently need to
consider how they would respond to a situation
of planetary emergency

Member States, regions and stakeholders urgently need to consider how they would respond to a situation of planetary emergency where both risk and urgency are high, in the face of mounting evidence that global environmental change will soon cross tipping points leading to cascading effects across multiple sectors and regions. Learning from the COVID-19 crisis will be important as it has shown that governments can act swiftly and resolutely in a crisis, and people can change their behaviour in the face of an existential threat.

Global institutional frameworks, such as the HLPF, must be strengthened to accelerate action and delivery

The global institutional framework must be strengthened in order to accelerate action towards achieving the 2030 Agenda. The review of the High-level Political Forum is a vital and necessary opportunity to convert the Forum into a knowledge-based, coherent, and action-oriented arena through improved evaluation and analysis of evidence-based inputs. In addition, the UN must take steps to ensure that the evidence-based inputs stemming from the multi-stakeholder Forum on Science, Technology and Innovation for the Sustainable Development Goals (STI Forum) better feed into the HLPF.

Share: