立场文件

2020 年高级别政治论坛立场文件:加速行动和变革途径

实现可持续发展行动和交付十年

由国际科学理事会和 世界工程组织联合会(WFEO),寻求将科学证据输入到联合国的可持续发展相关政策进程中,包括政府间谈判。

如报名参加 2020高级别政治论坛 (HLPF),主要的联合国平台,用于监测和审查实施该公约的进展情况 2030议程 及其可持续发展目标(SDGs),科技主要群体已提交与今年主题相关的立场文件 “加速行动和变革途径:实现可持续发展行动和交付十年”.

高级别政治论坛将于 7 月 16 日至 XNUMX 日举行,主要以虚拟方式举行。



亮点

立场文件收集了广泛的合作伙伴组织和计划的意见,例如 向可持续性转型 (T2S) 计划, 未来的地球, 里拉 2030 非洲是, 国际应用系统分析 (IIASA), Stockholm环境研究所 (SEI) 等。 该文件将在联合国网站上发布,该文件的摘要将包含在主要群体和利益相关者对会议的正式文稿中。 两份文件都将公布 请点击此处尝试搜索。.

立场文件通过提供科学和技术界为维持和支持变革行动而制定的具体举措的例子,强调了科学和技术对加速转型以支持 2030 年议程的贡献。

然而,揭示 2030 年议程的全部潜力需要:

  • 加强研发资金支持,旨在将科学知识生产导向实现可持续发展目标
  • 广泛获取现有和新兴的科学知识、数据和突破性工具
  • 一个强化的全球体制框架,除其他外,确保利用与可持续发展有关的最佳科学知识来支持决策。

关键信息和建议

新冠肺炎危机必须成为推动实现更加可持续、公平和
健康世界

虽然各国的当务之急是解决健康危机和保护最脆弱的群体,但从长远来看,COVID-19 疫情为重新思考我们社会的根本基础并摆脱不平等现象的现有体系提供了重要机会脆弱性和环境影响的术语是结构性的。 从这个意义上说,COVID-19 危机必须成为向更可持续、公平和健康的世界转变的巨大加速器。

实现可持续、公平和健康的世界需要综合转型方法

实现可持续、公平和健康的世界需要综合转型方法,例如 2019年全球可持续发展报告 (GSDR 2019),它以全面、系统的方式解决可持续发展目标,而不是作为离散目标和相关目标和指标的集合。 再过十年,各国和地区迫切需要设计和实施综合的、因地制宜的、可实现的途径,以实现各级和规模的转型。

加强社会科学的贡献和
人文学科,以及更强大、更平等的合作
迫切需要实施全面和
综合转型框架

实施全面和综合的转型框架将需要:

  • 的一项重要贡献 社会科学和人文科学 在理解和理解历史、文化和背景对转型的影响、可能的转型的条件和后果、主观意义构建在我们对世界的看法中的作用、刻意转型所涉及的伦理和责任,以及决策和治理过程的复杂性,包括科学在政策过程中的作用;
  • 确定哪里需要科学以及哪里需要科学的集体过程 公共和私人投资 应优先加速实现 2030 年议程;
  • 更强大、更公平的合作 政策、科学、民间社会和其他利益相关者社区 在所有级别和规模。

重新思考技术在实现 2030 年议程中的作用和重要性尤为紧迫

重新思考技术在实现 2030 年议程中的作用和重要性,以及如何重新调整技术方向,以便以变革的方式更有意义地为可持续发展目标的实施做出贡献,具有特殊的紧迫性。 这 联合国的全球技术促进机制 应成为评估当前技术和知识储备是否足以实现可持续发展目标并适合在全球范围内转让的工具。

我们需要应对可能威胁实现可持续发展目标进展的多重威胁、复杂风险和相互作用

可持续发展目标的实施和审查应考虑到如果计划没有足够的弹性,可能会威胁到进展的多重威胁、复杂风险和相互作用。 风险的概念化、识别和理解需要科学的跨学科综合方法、科学与政策之间的合作以及政府的跨部门参与。 加强数据收集和交换是实现这一目标的基石活动。

应更好地协调五项主要环境政策框架以加快行动和交付

为了提高连贯性和影响力,应实施五项主要环境政策框架——2030 年可持续发展议程、仙台减少灾害风险框架、巴黎气候变化协定、全球生物多样性框架和新城市议程——更好地协调以形成一个综合的全球行动议程,以建立一个公平、可持续和有复原力的世界。

会员国、地区和利益攸关方迫切需要
考虑他们将如何应对这种情况
行星紧急状态

面对越来越多的证据表明全球环境变化将很快跨越临界点,导致跨多个部门的级联效应,会员国、地区和利益相关者迫切需要考虑如何应对风险和紧迫性都很高的全球紧急情况和地区。 从 COVID-19 危机中学习非常重要,因为它表明政府可以在危机中迅速果断地采取行动,人们可以在面临生存威胁时改变自己的行为。

必须加强高级别政治论坛等全球体制框架,以加快行动和交付

必须加强全球体制框架,以加快实现 2030 年议程的行动。 对高级别政治论坛的审查是一个重要且必要的机会,通过改进对基于证据的投入的评估和分析,将论坛转变为一个以知识为基础、连贯一致和以行动为导向的舞台。 此外,联合国必须采取措施确保来自科学、技术和创新促进可持续发展目标的多方利益攸关方论坛(STI 论坛)的循证投入能够更好地融入高级别政治论坛。

跳到内容

Position paper for 2020 HLPF: Accelerated action and transformative pathways

Realizing the decade of action and delivery for sustainable development

Bright rainbow coloured network system on a black background. EPS 10 file using transparencies.

The Scientific and Technological Community Major Group, jointly facilitated by the International Science Council and the World Federation of Engineering Organizations (WFEO), seeks to input scientific evidence into sustainable development-related policy processes, including intergovernmental negotiations, at the United Nations.

For the 2020 High-Level Political Forum (HLPF), the main UN platform to monitor and review progress towards the implementation of the 2030 Agenda and its Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the Science and Technology Major Group has submitted a position paper related to this year’s theme “Accelerated action and transformative pathways: realizing the decade of action and delivery for sustainable development”.

The HLPF will take place 7-16 July and will be mainly held virtually.


Highlights

The position paper gathers inputs from a wide breadth of partner organizations and programmes such as the Transformations to Sustainability (T2S) programme, Future Earth, LIRA 2030 Africa, the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), the Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI) and others. The document will be made available on the UN website and a summary of the paper will be included in the Major Groups’ and stakeholders’ official contribution to the meeting. Both documents will be published here.

The position paper underscores the contribution of science and technology to accelerate transformations in support of the 2030 Agenda by providing examples of concrete initiatives set up by the scientific and technological community to sustain and bolster transformative action.

Revealing the full potential of the 2030 Agenda however requires:

  • strengthened research and development financial support aimed at orienting scientific knowledge production towards attaining the SDGs
  • wide access to existing and emerging scientific knowledge, data and breakthrough tools
  • a reinforced global institutional framework to ensure, among other things, that the best scientific knowledge related to sustainable development is utilized to uphold decision making.

Key messages and recommendations

The COVID-19 crisis must become the great accelerator of transformations towards a more sustainable, equitable and
healthy world

While the immediate priority for countries is to solve the health crisis and protect the most vulnerable, the COVID-19 outbreak offers in the longer term an important opportunity to rethink the very foundations of our societies and to move away from the existing system where inequalities in terms of vulnerability and environmental impact are structurally embedded. In that sense, the COVID-19 crisis must become the great accelerator of transformations towards a more sustainable, equitable and healthy world.

Achieving a sustainable, equitable and healthy world requires an integrated transformations approach

Achieving a sustainable, equitable and healthy world requires an integrated transformations approach, such as that offered in the Global Sustainable Development Report 2019 (GSDR 2019), which addresses the Sustainable Development Goals in a comprehensive, systemic way, rather than as a collection of discrete goals and associated targets and indicators. With just ten years to go, countries and regions urgently need to design and implement integrated, context-sensitive and attainable pathways towards achieving transformation at all levels and scales.

Strengthened contribution from the social sciences and
humanities, and stronger, more equitable collaborations are
urgently required to operationalize comprehensive and
integrated transformation frameworks

Operationalizing comprehensive and integrated transformation frameworks will require:

  • an important contribution from the social sciences and humanities in understanding and making sense of the bearing of history, culture and context on transformations, the conditions and consequences of possible transformations, the role of subjective sense-making in our visions of the world, the ethics and responsibilities involved in deliberate transformation, and the complexity of decision-making and governance processes, including the role of science in the policy process;
  • collective processes to define where science is needed and where public and private investments should be prioritized to accelerate the achievement of the 2030 Agenda;
  • stronger and more equitable collaboration across policy, science, civil society and other stakeholder communities at all levels and scales.

There is a special urgency to rethink the role and importance of technology in achieving the 2030 Agenda

There is a special urgency to rethink the role and importance of technology to achieve the 2030 Agenda, and how it could be reoriented in order to more meaningfully contribute to the implementation of the SDGs in a transformative way. The UN’s global Technology Facilitation Mechanism should become a vehicle to assess whether the current stock of technology and knowledge is sufficient for achieving the SDGs and suitable for transfer across the globe.

We need to address the multiple threats, complex risks and interactions that may threaten progress towards the SDGs

Implementation and review of the SDGs should take into account the multiple threats, complex risks and interactions which may threaten progress if programmes are not sufficiently resilient. The conceptualization, identification and understanding of risk demands interdisciplinary integrated approaches from science, collaboration between science and policy, and cross-sectoral engagement by government. Strengthening data collection and exchange are cornerstone activities towards this end.

The five major environmental policy frameworks should be better coordinated to accelerate action and delivery

For greater coherence and impact, the implementation of five major environmental policy frameworks – the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction, the Paris Agreement on Climate Change, the Global Biodiversity Framework, and the New Urban Agenda – should be better coordinated to form an integrated global agenda for action for an equitable, sustainable and resilient world.

Member States, regions and stakeholders urgently need to
consider how they would respond to a situation
of planetary emergency

Member States, regions and stakeholders urgently need to consider how they would respond to a situation of planetary emergency where both risk and urgency are high, in the face of mounting evidence that global environmental change will soon cross tipping points leading to cascading effects across multiple sectors and regions. Learning from the COVID-19 crisis will be important as it has shown that governments can act swiftly and resolutely in a crisis, and people can change their behaviour in the face of an existential threat.

Global institutional frameworks, such as the HLPF, must be strengthened to accelerate action and delivery

The global institutional framework must be strengthened in order to accelerate action towards achieving the 2030 Agenda. The review of the High-level Political Forum is a vital and necessary opportunity to convert the Forum into a knowledge-based, coherent, and action-oriented arena through improved evaluation and analysis of evidence-based inputs. In addition, the UN must take steps to ensure that the evidence-based inputs stemming from the multi-stakeholder Forum on Science, Technology and Innovation for the Sustainable Development Goals (STI Forum) better feed into the HLPF.

Share: