General Assembly

The General Assembly (GA) is the highest authority of the Council and consists of representatives of its members. It meets every three years.

ISC members at the founding General Assembly of the Council in Paris. Photo: Simon Cassanas for ISC

These meetings provide a forum for conducting ISC business and allow leading scientists to identify and discuss the world’s most pressing scientific issues.

The GA is responsible for setting the general direction, policies and priorities for the next triennium. The first General Assembly of the International Science Council took place in Paris, France, in July 2018.

Terms of Reference for the General Assembly can be found in Statutes 11-15 of the ISC Statutes and Rules of Procedures.

Next General Assembly:

Muscat, Sultanat of Oman. 2021

At the 1st General Assembly of the International Science Council, the Council’s members accepted a bid by the city of Muscat in the Sultanate of Oman to host the next General Assembly in 2021.

Past General Assemblies of the International Science Council:

Paris, 3-5 July 2018

The 32nd General Assembly in Taipei was the last General Assembly of the International Council for Science (ICSU). Following the decision of its members to merge ICSU and the International Social Science Council (ISSC), the resulting new organization held its founding General Assembly in Paris, France, in July 2018.

Past General Assemblies of the International Council for Science:

Rome, Italy. September 2011
Maputo, Mozambique. October 2008

President: Goverdhan Mehta

Resolution 29th General Assembly (english):
Suzhou/Shanghai, China, October 2005

President: Jane Lubchenco

Decisions 28th General Assembly (french):
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. September 2002

President: Hiroyuki Yoshikawa (Japan)

Decisions 27th General Assembly (english):
Cairo, Egypt. September 1999

President: Werner Arber (Germany)

Decisions 26th General Assembly (english):
Washington DC, USA. September 1996

President: James Clement Dooge (Ireland)

Santiago, Chile. October 1993

President: Mambillikalathil Govind Kumar “M.G.K.” Menon (India)

Sofia, Bulgaria. October 1990

President: Mambillikalathil Govind Kumar “M.G.K.” Menon (India)

Beijing, China. September 1988

President: John Cowdery Kendrew (UK)

Berne, Switzerland. September 1986

President: John Cowdery Kendrew (UK)

Ottawa, Canada. September 1984

President: John Cowdery Kendrew (UK)

Cambridge, UK. September 1982

President: Daniel Adzei Bekoe (Ghana)

Amsterdam, Netherlands. September 1980

President: Cornelis de Jager (Netherlands)

Athens, Greece. September 1978

President: Brunó Ferenc Straub (Hungary)

Washington DC, USA. October 1976

President: Harrison Brown (USA)

Istanbul, Turkey. September 1974

President: Jean Coulomb (France)

Helsinki, Finland. September 1972

President: Victor A. Ambartsumian (USSR)

Madrid, Spain. September 1970

President: Victor A. Ambartsumian (USSR)

Paris, France. September 1968

President: James Merritt Harrison (Canada)

Bombay, India. January 1966

President: Edgar William Richard Steacie (Canada)

Vienna, Austria. November 1963

President: Sven Hörstadius (Sweden)

London, UK. September 1961

President: Rudolph Peters (UK)

Washington DC. USA, October 1958

President: Lloyd Viel Berkner (USA)

Oslo, Norway. August 1955

President: Bertil Lindblad (Sweden)

Amsterdam, Netherlands. October 1952

President: Alexander von Mural (Switzerland)

Copenhagen, Denmark. October 1949

President: John Ambrose Fleming (USA)

London, UK. July 1946

President: Hugo Rudolph Kruyt (Netherlands)

London, UK. May 1937

President: Niels Erik Nørlund (Denmark)

Brussels, Belgium. July 1934

President: George Ellery Hale (USA)

Brussels, Belgium. July 1931

President: Émile Picard (France)