可持续发展转型计划(2014-2022) 

主题:
跨学科科学
库存状态: 完成
向下滚动

国际可持续性转型 (T2S) 计划支持对环境变化和可持续性的社会层面进行开创性的国际跨学科研究。

背景  

经过九年充满挑战和收获,T2S 计划于 2022 年 2014 月结束。该计划于 2 年 XNUMX 月由国际社会科学理事会(ISSC,国际科学理事会的前身之一)在瑞典国际合作署 (Sida) 的资助下启动,旨在创建一项研究计划,使社会科学能够为可持续性科学做出急需的贡献。TXNUMXS 计划是国际科学史上的一个里程碑,至今仍是自然科学和社会科学在可持续性领域开展国际跨学科合作的最重要体现之一。  

该计划分为两个阶段。 第一2014 年至 2019 年,ISC 资助了 38 项种子基金和三个主要的“变革性知识网络”。第二阶段,即 2018 年至 2022 年,ISC 在 Sida 的支持下,与贝尔蒙特论坛和 NORFACE 合作,资助 12个国际研究项目得益于欧盟委员会的补充资助,该项目在可持续发展领域的社会科学研究合作和领导力的规模和范围上取得了重大进展。  

这 15 个项目采用了各种概念和方法,解决了世界各地不同地点的各种社会环境问题。它们的共同点是问题和潜在解决方案的社会框架、非学术合作伙伴的深度参与,以及努力理解和促进社会变革进程,以实现更可持续和社会公正的局面。  

总共有约 370 人在 35 多个国家/地区的数十个地点担任项目的核心角色。约有 180 名项目成员位于全球南方国家。还有数千人以各种方式参与研究。这些项目成果丰硕,共发表了 400 多篇学术出版物,包括三期跨项目特刊,以及许多非学术和多媒体成果。所有项目都在艰苦的条件下在其生命周期内取得了令人印象深刻的成果,随着项目播下的种子逐渐成熟并最终结出硕果,未来几年可以期待更多成果。 

总之,T2S 项目提高了社会科学的领导能力,并为来自全球南方国家的社会科学家提供了一个在国际跨学科可持续性研究中发挥领导作用的平台。该项目有助于改变社会科学在可持续性科学中的地位,并将对不可持续性的回应从技术转移到社会、政治和经济。  


总结十年社会转型与可持续发展跨学科研究的学习成果 

我们从三个重大国际项目中了解到有关社会转型的起源、动力和规模,以及科学在社会转型中的作用的信息,总结在以下报告中: 

变革性劳动:可持续发展转型的隐性(和不那么隐性)工作。来自三个变革性知识网络的综合见解。

Moser, S. 2024. 变革性劳动:可持续发展转型的隐性(和不那么隐性)工作。来自三个变革性知识网络的综合见解。国际科学理事会。DOI:10.24948/2024.04   


我们从 12 个重大国际项目中了解到如何应对治理、经济和福祉方面的当代挑战,以及跨学科研究方法,这些总结在以下报告中:

通过批判视角看待社会向可持续发展的转变:来自“向可持续发展转变”研究计划资助的十二个研究项目的综合见解。

Moser, S. 2024. 通过批判性视角看待社会向可持续发展的转型:从“向可持续发展转型”研究计划资助的 10.24948 个研究项目中获得的综合见解。贝尔蒙特论坛、国际科学理事会、NORFACE。DOI:2024.03/XNUMX


经过九年对两个研究项目的协调,我们了解到如何(以及如何不)设计国际研究项目来推动跨学科、变革性的可持续发展研究,这些经验总结在以下报告中: 

可持续性研究转型的项目设计:两个可持续性研究项目设计的比较分析。

Mukute, M.、Colvin, J.、Burt, J. 2024. 可持续性研究转型项目设计:可持续性转型两项研究项目设计的比较分析。贝尔蒙特论坛、国际科学理事会、NORFACE。DOI:10.24948/2024.02  


特色出版物

知识简报和博客

新闻与活动 查看全部

新闻
2024 年 7 月 12日 - 10最小读取

我们从十年跨学科研究中了解到了社会向可持续发展的转变

了解更多 详细了解我们从十年跨学科研究中了解到的有关社会向可持续发展的转变
新闻
27,2023 - 11最小读取

“你不能只是投入可再生能源并称其为可持续解决方案”

了解更多 详细了解“你不能只使用可再生能源,就称之为可持续的解决方案”
照片:马修·威廉姆斯-埃利斯 新闻
27,2023 - 10最小读取

变革的推动者:聚焦亚马逊地区的可持续发展举措

了解更多 详细了解变革推动者:聚焦亚马逊地区基于地点的可持续发展举措

项目团队

莎拉·摩尔(Sarah Moore)

莎拉·摩尔(Sarah Moore)

运营总监

国际科学理事会

莎拉·摩尔(Sarah Moore)

已发表的研究 查看全部

出版物
2024 年 7 月 12日

可持续发展转型计划综述

了解更多 详细了解可持续发展转型综合计划
卡尼奥·马丁·佩尼亚 © Doel Vázquez 出版物
31,2022

面对海平面上升,管理撤退的变革潜力

了解更多 详细了解海平面上升背景下有序撤退的变革潜力
出版物
18 May 2021

在变革性的可持续性叙述中找到共同点

了解更多 详细了解在变革性可持续发展叙事中寻找共同点

订阅我们的时事通讯

订阅 国际学习中心月刊 接收来自ISC和更广泛的科学界的重要更新,并查看有关开放科学、联合国等的更专业的新闻通讯。

请在您的浏览器中启用 JavaScript 以填写此表格。
波浪
跳到内容

Sign up

The Transformations to Sustainability programme (2014–2022) 

Status: Completed
Scroll down

The international Transformations to Sustainability (T2S) programme supported pioneering, international transdisciplinary research on the social dimensions of environmental change and sustainability.

Background  

The T2S programme ended in December 2022 after nine challenging and rewarding years. The programme, launched in January 2014 by the International Social Science Council (ISSC, one of the predecessors of the International Science Council) with financing from the Swedish International Cooperation Agency (Sida), emerged from an effort to create a research programme that would enable the social sciences to make their much-needed contribution to sustainability science. The T2S programme was a milestone in the history of international science and is still one of the most significant manifestations of international, interdisciplinary collaboration between the natural and social sciences on sustainability.  

The programme had two phases. The first, from 2014 to 2019, funded 38 seed grants and three major ‘Transformative Knowledge Networks’. In the second, from 2018 to 2022, the ISC, still with support from Sida, partnered with the Belmont Forum and NORFACE to fund 12 international research projects, benefitting from top-up funding from the European Commission that made for a hugely significant step up in scale and scope for social science research cooperation and leadership in the domain of sustainability.  

The 15 projects tackled a wide range of socio-environmental problems in diverse sites all over the world, with a variety of conceptual and methodological approaches. What they had in common was the social framing of the problems and potential solutions, the deep involvement of non-academic partners, and the effort to understand and facilitate processes of social change towards more sustainable and socially just situations.  

Altogether, about 370 people had core roles in the projects in many dozens of sites across more than 35 countries. About 180 project members were based in countries of the Global South. Several thousands more were involved in various ways in participatory forms of research. The projects were prolific, producing in total more than 400 academic publications, including three cross-project special issues, and many non-academic and multi-media outputs. All of the projects produced impressive outcomes over their lifespans, under difficult conditions, and more can be expected in the coming years as the seeds planted by the projects mature and eventually come to fruition. 

In sum, the T2S programme increased social science leadership capacity and provided a platform for social scientists from the Global South to play leading roles in international, transdisciplinary sustainability research. The programme helped to change the status of the social sciences in sustainability science and to shift the locus of responses to unsustainability from the technical to the social, political and economic.  


Summarizing ten years’ of learning from transdisciplinary research on social transformations to sustainability 

What we learned from three major international projects about the origins, dynamics and scaling of social transformations, and about the role of science in social transformations, is synthesized in the following report: 

Transformative Labour: The Hidden (and Not-So-Hidden) Work of Transformations to Sustainability. Integrative Insights from Three Transformative Knowledge Networks.

Moser, S. 2024. Transformative Labour: The Hidden (and Not-So-Hidden) Work of Transformations to Sustainability. Integrative Insights from Three Transformative Knowledge Networks. International Science Council. DOI: 10.24948/2024.04   


What we learned from 12 major international projects about transformative responses to contemporary challenges in governance, economy and wellbeing, and in transdisciplinary research approaches, is synthesized in the following report:

Social Transformations to Sustainability through a Critical Lens: Integrative insights from twelve research projects funded under the Transformations to Sustainability research programme.

Moser, S. 2024. Social Transformations to Sustainability through a Critical Lens: Integrative insights from twelve research projects funded under the Transformations to Sustainability research programme. Belmont Forum, International Science Council, NORFACE. DOI: 10.24948/2024.03


What we learned, from nine years of coordination of two research programmes, about how (and how not) to design international research programmes to advance transdisciplinary, transformative research for sustainability, is synthesized in the following report: 

Programme Design for Transformations to Sustainability Research: A Comparative Analysis of the Design of Two Research Programmes on Transformations to Sustainability.

Mukute, M., Colvin, J., Burt, J. 2024. Programme Design for Transformations to Sustainability Research: A Comparative Analysis of the Design of Two Research Programmes on Transformations to Sustainability. Belmont Forum, International Science Council, NORFACE. DOI: 10.24948/2024.02  


Featured publications

Knowledge briefs and blogs

News & Events View all

blog
12 July 2024 - 10 min read

What we learned about social transformations to sustainability from a decade of transdisciplinary research

Learn more Learn more about What we learned about social transformations to sustainability from a decade of transdisciplinary research
blog
27 January 2023 - 11 min read

“You can’t just plunk in renewables and call it a sustainable solution”

Learn more Learn more about “You can’t just plunk in renewables and call it a sustainable solution”
Photo: Matthew Williams-Ellis blog
27 January 2023 - 10 min read

Agents of change: Spotlight on place-based sustainability initiatives in the Amazon

Learn more Learn more about Agents of change: Spotlight on place-based sustainability initiatives in the Amazon

Project team

Sarah Moore

Sarah Moore

Operations Director

International Science Council

Sarah Moore

Publications View all

publications
12 July 2024

Synthesis of the Transformations to Sustainability programme

Learn more Learn more about Synthesis of the Transformations to Sustainability programme
Caño Martin Peña © Doel Vázquez publications
31 January 2022

The transformative potential of managed retreat in the face of rising sea levels

Learn more Learn more about The transformative potential of managed retreat in the face of rising sea levels
publications
18 May 2021

Finding common ground in transformative sustainability narratives

Learn more Learn more about Finding common ground in transformative sustainability narratives

Sign up to our newsletters

Subscribe to the ISC Monthly to receive key updates from the ISC and the broader scientific community, and check out our more specialized newsletters on Open Science, United Nations, and more.

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Waves
Skip to content